Went Camping... Forgot the Tent

in #life8 years ago

4 of my close friends and I had been planning this camping trip for close to a month. Finally the day of departure had arrived. We stuffed my truck full of everything we would need to last the weekend and made of. After a 3 hour drive, we had arrived at Lake Wenatchee, where we intended to camp.

The first camp site we went to was full. No problem, it's a popular place, we'll just go to the next one. Oh it's full too? Okay, there's plenty more. Full, full, full, full. Hey isn't it Father's Day weekend? Oops. We picked a bad time to go. The panic didn't set in until it was 8pm, the sun was going down, and we still didn't have a place to camp. We drove around the lake and past it, desperately looking for any place that might be viable to camp at. After traveling for 20 minutes down a lonely dirt road, we saw it... Rainy Creek Campground. It was completely unmanned to! We drove in and immediately ran out to the woods to find the creek like a bunch of kids. After rejoicing in such an exquisite find, we started unpacking our things. One friend had brought along his tent that was large enough to house us all. When we opened the bag, however... there was no tent. There was nothing more than a few poles and a rain shield of some sort.

Shit...

So we did the best we could with what we had.

Fit for a king!

Despite this small hiccup, the camping trip turned out to be a lot of fun and we were able to do a lot of hiking and fishing. Can't say I was sad to have to go back to sleeping in my bed though.

Sort:  

Funny story indeed! I have added you to my list of following. Keep up the post my friend.

Man I hate when that happens! LOL When I was a kid we never set up the tent, just threw a tarp on the ground and hoped it did not rain in the night. I will be following you hoping for more like this!!