FAITHFUL... is an option?

in #life6 years ago

Faithful.jpgPexels (edit by me)

A few days ago, a friend told me that she broked up with her boyfriend because he was unfaithful. Apparently, the man when leaving work one afternoon went with a girl from his office, to have a few beers, and according to him, nothing else happened. But my friend didn't like it, especially 'cause he had his phone turned off that afternoon. And I kept thinking if maybe my friend's reaction had been exaggerated, I still wonder it, because I believe that fidelity goes beyond not cheating your partner with another person. Many think they haven't been unfaithful just because they have not kissed or had sex with someone else, but I don't share that opinion. I consider that the mere fact of paying attention to your desire towards another person is also infidelity, even when you don't reach the fact as such. But for you, What does it mean to be faithful? Is being unfaithful only having sex with third parties? Would you forgive an infidelity? Would you commit one if you knew that nobody would find out?

Separador 2.png

For me, fidelity in the couple is a fundamental value and it isn't necessary to suffer infidelity to understand it. And believe me when I tell you that I'am totally convinced that the word love is worn out, the blue princes and the princesses of fairy tales don't exist. I would dare to say that what prevails these days is the professional realization, personal fulfillment, and in the attempt, to share that path with someone real, who makes mistakes but learns from them, we're leaving behind that idea that we have right to the perfection, because it isn't true, people are not perfect..

Separador 2.png

Still, I believe that beyond personal achievements, one of the great aspirations of the human being is to find the true and only love, but we live in a society with such corrupt values that egocentrism and pleasure often gains ground to love, and don't allow to have and maintain a healthy, safe and reliable relationship. Selfishness endangers any relationship, because people get carried away by everything that means the fulfillment of their whims and is almost always a novelty the trigger: new appearance, new person, new car, new home, material things that make them think that will away from the routine and change what they consider safe, and therefore, boring in their life. These are the people most likely to be unfaithful, in the constant search for change and new experiences and satisfactions, they are not willing to give themselves completely to a relationship.

Separador 2.png

In summary, I believe that fidelity is an option. Each one of us chooses if we want to practice it, pretend it or run away from it. You can choose to be faithful to the couple or not in an act of will that requires awake attention and ability to discern and to stay away from what we theoretically don't want to do. Many people do not seek adventure, find it and succumb and are not prepared to face it because they never imagined that could happen to them.

Firma 2.png

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteemyou! Good Luck!