You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another Kind of Happiness

in #life7 years ago

I read your article and had to smile... because I yesterday wrote a post how to stop rumination... and I wrote this, because I again and again fall in the trap of happiness. I notice that I believe I should be happy, that I should be spared all negative and sad emotions. I notice how I compare myself with others peoples life (or better, how I imagine their life) and become jealous. Not a good state of mind, because happiness is never ongoing. On the other hand, living meaningful as you described is a much better goal. Not only is it not completely selfish (like pampering myself and constantly circling around my own wishes, thoughts, and feelings), but is much more achievable. I for example have chronic migraines and my wish to be healthy and pain free is perhaps easy comprehensible, but totally unrealistic. By only pursuing this goal, I probably will get more worries and sadness. As you explained for me it is much more reasonable to live meaningful… means: writing when I am feeling well, or painting, or helping other people…instead of trying to attain an unreachable goal (although society tells me, I should be always happy)
Thank you for your wonderful post!