You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Been Awhile Since I Last Said Something About the Things I Want to Say

in #life • 3 years ago

Yo! Wtf!!
🤣🤣😅

Screenshot_20210806-182717.png

Screenshot_20210806-182703.png


In Nigeria we say 'sorry' quite a lot too, we Don't call it an apology (except your suffering was our fault), when your suffering isn't our fault we still say sorry but we don't call it an apology, its rather our way to console you.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Yeah. I've seen some cultures be like, "Say you're sorry! Now!"

You know when you're walking along and cross paths with someone coming from the opposite direction, then do that little side to side dance until you both stop at the same time. Well here most would say, "Sorry," instead of, "Excuse me."

Hahaha 😅, I've also found out that a lot of times we say 'sorry' in Nigeria, Americans say 'Are you Okay?' in the same situation.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Until I came here, I didn't know English was one of the main languages over there where you are. One time I stumbled into something strange. I wrote this off the top of my head, as gibberish. Out of curiosity, and for shits and giggles, one day I decided to put it into google translate. Mind Blown. Try it. Use 'detect language' convert to english.

Google translator detected 'Hausa', a language spoken in Northern Nigeria. Lol. But it didn't give any meaning though. Hahaha. By the way, I'm from South-Eastern Nigeria, we speak something else there, not Hausa.

Screenshot_20210808-164159.png


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Some of it translates into actual words in English. Something about "online or offline" and "the money isn't good", all kinds of eerie shit (eerie to me because it wasn't supposed to mean anything or be a language), but it all depends on the combination of lines you put in to translate. It used to come up with more translations but maybe Google got 'smarter' or was making an error. I didn't notice that until I tried again recently. Something changed. Still works a little bit though. Anyway, that discovery is how I learned which languages are spoken over there.