A really bad divorce triggered the first and only manic episode of my life

in #life6 years ago

team.JPG

“A really bad divorce triggered the first and only manic episode of my life. It was my body’s attempt to avoid feeling any pain. I was sleeping three hours a night and doing handstands in the morning. I did a whole lot of writing. I’m a contractor-- so I taught myself all sorts of plastering techniques and developed an entire series of finishes. I worked as a carpenter for twelve hours every day. Eventually I pushed myself to the point where I injured my shoulder, and the doctor told me that I couldn’t work anymore. It forced me to slow down, confront the illness, and make friends with that part of myself. Now I’m on a mood stabilizer. I’m not operating in a triggered state anymore. And I’m back to work, but this time with a team of people to help me carry the load.”