You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlog #25: My crypto tax thoughts. It sure will be interesting this year if it keeps going up.

in #life7 years ago

Yes, that's something I've thought a lot about too. I live in Australia so it's a bit different, but I did look up the taxation laws for bitcoin and other cryptos in Australia.
To the best of my understanding investments in cryptocurrencies don't encur tax if they are used for personal expenses, even the investment has appreciated in value. But they are taxable if the cryptocurrencies are used for business purposes. This is for Australia, but probably different for the Netherlands.

Sort:  

I pretty convinced it differs from country to country. This is good info for Australians. Last information I could find is that I would have to pay 1.2% over my total holdings. Which I would have no problem with.