Quality Versus Quantity

in #life6 years ago

I can't emphasis enough why it's important to focus on the quality of your content instead of the quantity of your posts on Steemit and other social media platforms.

I miss a few days of posting here on Steemit now and again, but that doesn't mean I have abandoned the platform. It simply means that I am spending time educating myself on topics of interests so that I can provide something I consider quality to the platform.

I'm not a spammer so you won't see tons of follow me, I follow back posts on the Steemit blockchain - knowing that all content uploaded to the Steemit platform kind of helps me to remember to not post comments that are redundant on other people's posts. It should also be a great reminder for you! I see so many people doing this, forgetting this important aspect in their social exchanges here.

What do I consider quality? I want to read and provide material that I would enjoy myself elsewhere, not some run of the mill content that everyone else has already posted on a million times online.

Success doesn't happen overnight! Never have I seen the reason to rush my success, where I see others who feel pressured to churn out content every day. I am not about to waste my time or the readers time by posting content that I do not firmly agree with, find interesting enough to share, or enjoy. I do not see the point in posting a blog every day if I do not have something interesting to share with you.

I made this post for those of you who have approached me with the question, "Where have you been?" For those of you have thought to "educate" me on how to do Steemit "right." I understand you might have the best of intentions, but in all honesty, do what works best for you! Not everyone is going to utilize the site the same way, nor should they. If posting content every day is feasible for you, then by all means do so.

I do not have years of content to add to the platform, so whenever I write a blog, the material is fresh and not lifted from my Facebook account or from websites I've written from in the past. I may have shared one article I wrote a while back but that's basically all for past content from me.

Image source: Giphy.com

Sort:  

hai cats good job. Nice pic frieand

Very true words spoken here!!!! I see some people that post the most random things on here literally 4-5 times a day!!! It's crazy and basically just seems like fluff and white noise to me!! I don't have time or energy to look at recycled info, selfies, or generic posts all day!! I see enough of that on IG or FB! I have content from other platforms but I still try to change it up a bit to make it a teachable moment or at least something that I would be interested in learning about if i didn't already know it! Great post!

I agree. I'd rather have just a few high quality items in my feed than a ton of scraping-the-barrel, insubstantial nothing-posts. Surely we should post when we have something valuable to add rather than just because it's a new day on the calendar.

I think it's good not to be away for too long, but you can still be reading and commenting even when you're not posting yourself right? I also think that light-hearted stories about moments from your day or life-background stuff can also be valuable for your followers as it helps them get to know you more as a person. As long as they are well-thought-through that is.

Totally agree @nexusvortex777 ! My friend and I had a fat debate about the quality and the degree of perfection of the content!

Come check out our lil jam session post that we made this evening here, it took us so long to just let it be even though it's not perfect, truthfully we had fun making it :)

"Lonely Day - System of a Down Cover"
https://steemit.com/music/@nicknightshade/vtauhlal

let me know what you think!

Honestly, if you enjoy creating a bit of content... even if it's not perfect... is that human element of flaw not worth more value as it is a truthful reflection of what that moment was? Even if it was a polished diamond?

I still think great content takes time to make so in an ever rushed media world, I guess it is tough to sift between the Great and the Gruesome haha

My post above is somewhere in between :P