Spring Cleanups! Lawns Shedding Their Winter Coats!

in #life6 years ago

IMG_2229.JPG

Right now its spring, and as a landscaper I am smack dab in the middle of spring clean ups. We clean out any emerging weeds from the beds and get rid of nuisance leaves that were left hung up in corners and under shrubs from the winter winds. To keep it simple after winter, yards are left looking ratty and its time to get ready for the warm seasons.

A cleanup would not be complete without a good thatching, a shed of the lawns winter coat and lifting the matted down grass for an even cut. This used to be done with an iron rake even a spring rake assisted with a leaf blower. These days we use power rakers, and my back thanks the innovation immensely.

IMG_2232.JPG
IMG_2228.JPG

Operating this little devil has pretty much been for the past few years my department. Despite the job being made easier, it still takes a certain finesse to thatch a lawn properly. Patience is important, you must constantly be adjusting the height. Some lawns have such a poor grade, it's being adjusted every few feet. That patience also goes with understanding the springs, what they can handle.

Last year we had all new bolts and springs and only had two wear and break. I regret not replacing all of them for the new season because it seems like every other job a few more go and need to be replaced, and the bolts are starting to sheer. We have plenty of replacements, so as we work we have to service. This is why it's my department, having to prop this machine up and throwing new springs on is something I have gotten very quick with.

I would like to mention, aside from having a spring raker, we also have a flail raker which will be used more in the coming week because the ground isn't as soft and this needs less of the constant attention. But for now. . .

thatch.gif

IMG_2235.JPGIMG_2237.JPG
(Was not intended for this but this lawn is an example of and untreated lawn, she has a mixture of creeping bentgrass, and the nuisance zoisia grass, which both require quite some maintenance. After years of not letting us treat, she finally agreed to let us do our thing. I guess she had a look around the block to see how green the JJScapes lawn is.)

Among the other things that may need to be done to an individual lawn the spring thatch in my opinion is important. Keeping thatch over winter I feel insulates the lawn and helps its dormancy. Removing it during the spring allows the grass to breath and make way for new green growth.

This is a hectic time of year made rough because of snow throwing us off 3 weeks at the start of the season. I have had no time to fish and no energy to go on the internet. With time off this Sunday, I just wanted to show I am still around and why I have been incognito. There will be only a couple more weeks of cleanups until cuts start. We are catching up quick so I will be back to being an active Steemian soon.

Thank you for reading!

Part two of Trout Stuffed peppers is coming soon!

In the meantime checkout @myhuntingfishing and #myhuntingfishing

Sort:  

I'd never heard of thatching before. We have someone who mows are lawn, but I don't have any idea if he did any of that or not. The lawn is starting to grow a little more each week, though, as the temperature comes up gradually and the sun peeks out from behind the clouds.

Sounds like a lot of work goes into prepping for spring, that then pays dividends as the warmer weather progresses. It also sounds like you're almost as much mechanic and tool repairman as you are a landscaper. :) In the long run, though, I imagine it's less expensive for you to do that yourself than to farm it out to someone else, even if there is a time element involved. As the owner, you can afford to be time-flexible, right? :)

I would imagine that your landscaper did as long as your paying for the full spring cleanup, the objective for most of our accounts is to make them look like doll houses. Though maintenance on grass can be different in different areas. In a climate zone that gets cold enough for the grass to go to dormancy, I would recommend it. Matted down from snow it allows the lawn to breath among other things.

A lot of work does go in, though I am very glad to say I see the light at the end of the tunnel, and already have my eye on my next fishing trip. I don't own the company (which I am glad about, so much more work) the owner gets the work and I manage the crew. Often if something breaks down to the point Im wasting time, Joe the owner will bring it back to his shop while the day is completed. We save tons of money self servicing and it keeps us going, we can't move while stuff is in the shop. I wish I could be time flexible but people want their cleanup done and when weekly cuts come our week isnt done untill all of the houses are cut. and that doesn't include trimmings and hardscapes. Once cuts come I will have way more time to be active here and on the water.

Thank you :)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo