Why should you not watch Maze Runner(Death Cure): A date night with him

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8757.JPG


Date Night with my Favorite Human

Me and my boyfriend don't really date much due to the stressing workload we both need to finish. We're both civil engineers and time spent in work is always the common denominator between our relationship. Dating really isn't our thing but surprisingly one busy day he asked me out. "Wait, what?? You askin' me out dude? I can't even do my laundry because of work then you're here asking me out?" Okay, that wasn't what I said. hehehe. I said, "Oh really? How sweet of you. I'm free tonight I just picked-up my laundry." Hahaha. I can't miss the chance guys, this is as rare as getting that cutie little stuffed toy in the clever claws of i-don't-know-what-it's-called machine in W.O.F..


Windowshopping, anyone?

After a couple of minutes on discerning which way we should go, I finally decided to go to Ayala Malls. Pinag-isipan masyado bess, I know right. Hahaha. I'm really a fan of a few basketball players so what I asked from him is to let me buy Durant's jersey (not really Durant's LOL, just a jersey of his name and number. yeah!). Of course he let me, he'd like to visit the only NBA Store in Cebu, too.

IMG_8767.JPG

I excitedly scanned through their items including the dispayed shoes in the right side. OMG, I'm sorry for I'm having a fangirling moment right in there. Hahaha. I took a closer look of each item, every single one of them. I was like picking the yummiest and chocolatiest among chocolate ice cream. I like all of them. But I can't afford them all LOL. As I kept my gaze to the hanged jerseys, I heard my tummy growled. My boyfriend decided to feed me because I can't skip any meal because ulcer sucks. I had a hard time deciding what to buy among the many favorites I listed in my mind so I thought maybe a good dinner would help me decide.


The FoodVenture

I'm not really a picky person but my choices are always different from my boyfriend. Where on earth (I mean Ayala) could we find a restaurant that offers Peranakan, Chinese and Japanese cuisine. I was craving for a Laksa while he likes a Szechuan dish. That was hard but good thing ULLI's STREETS OF ASIA came to the rescue.

IMG_8760.JPG

We arrived here around 9 PM, spending an hour and a half in the NBA store and wasting almost an hour deciding what and where to eat. We just came in with only 6 assumingly satisfied customers (I didn't took a picture of them, I might look like a paparazzi Hahaha).

I ordered Laksa, a peranakan cuisine which is popular in Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and southern Thailand.

IMG_8758.JPG

It's a spicy noodle soup consists of rice noodles or rice vermicelli and bean sprouts with chicken, prawn, and tofu served in spicy soup based on rich and spicy curry coconut milk. The mouth-watering experience of a spicy comfort food from our neighboring country is truly a thumbs up to me. The freshness of bean sprout is surprising. I have missed the sweet taste of fresh veggies and this perfect noodle soup surpassed my standards. Amazingly done!

My boyfriend ordered an American barbecue tradition married with a mouth-numbing Chinese spice, Szechuan ribs.

IMG_8754.JPG

The crux about this really comes down to Szechuan peppercorns. If you've never had them before, they release a heat like nothing else -- it's not so much spicy as tingling though. The level of spiciness is just right which can both fascinate and freak you out. From spice lovers like us, this dish is also a thumbs up.

Of course, we Filipinos can't live without rice. So this time, we tried Nori rice to complete our "Asian tummy tour".

IMG_8755.JPG

We both love anime and thus Japanese foods are always near our kokoro (heart). Nori rice is basically a rice with nori, an edible seaweed popularly eaten in Japan. It isn't just toppings, the savoury nori flavor is also mixed in the rice itself creating a fantastic rice flavor you would crave for the rest of your lives (Of course that's too subjective, that depends on you though hehe).

The 25-minute experience at Ulli's was greater than what I have expected.

IMG_8750.JPGIMG_8752.JPG

We were actually in a bit of a hurry because we're late in our movie date. Ayeee!


The Movie Date: Maze runner review

After that meal I'm still not sure what to buy. Hehehe. So what we did was just to catch up to our late movie sched.

IMG_8765.JPG
That pabebe look.Ugh! Kurutin kita dyan, eh hahaha Love you to bits boyfie!

Alright, I'm trying not to be too excited as I write this part. Trying not to spoil anyone who haven't watched the movie yet. Also, trying not to be hated by my readers. Hahaha. So if you think the movie is great and flawless, stop right there because I don't want to hurt your imagination. You ready?

I'm not a fan of sequels myself because I like it so much that waiting in vain for years is normal to me. Ugh, reminds me of Game of Thrones again. Oh well, maybe I'm really destined to just wait. So much of the intro and let's get it on.

The movie started in an ultimate funny way for me. Why? Because it's too pathetically cliché. Sorry for my words. You see, there was a train full of victims and there you have the protagonists giving so much heroic vibes. But something's really off. And I couldn't miss the point that they're all in the middle of a torn town with large numbers of infected people living in a much stronger level of zombies compared to the Walking Dead American Series. Why would the train blew its horn? Was it to warn animals crossing the line? (I don't think so), to inform passengers that they've arrived to a train station (obviously no), to let the wasteland's zombies know that a feast is coming their way? (I bet you haven't thought of that, have you?) to let the good guys know that the bad guys are on their way ready to give them their heroic scene? BINGO! Such an illogical plot progressions! Very cliché, indeed.

Still liking it? How about that bus lifted by a tower crane? With the weight of the passenger and the weight of the bus itself, the metal hooked in would have collapsed in the few seconds after it was lifted. Oh come on! It wasn't designed to carry weight or maybe the manufacturer had forseen that event would happen? Okay, that's funny.

I'm a scaredy cat myself so what only thrilled me was the tunnel scene with surprsingly saving acts from their kins. Look, if that span of time rescue immediately came in, should they have noticed them while they were on their way? Hahaha.

Perhaps, what disapponted me the most is my utter lack of suprise throughout. Don't get me wrong. The movie was great because the scenes are intense and full of narrative tension for explosions and numbingly hollow oration. But maybe I was just expecting too much and was over-realizing things that I failed to enjoy the whole movie. I am not a fan of watching movies with so many Madame Auring watching with me. It was way too predictable. Everything you expect to happen does happen. Every character that you suspect will act a certain way never fails your assumptions. Every cliché you can imagine comes true. So, my apologies for rating the movie at a meer mediocrity.

Still wanna watch? Or done watching? Comment down below your views and let's exchange some thoughts about the movie.


Author's note

This is my first blog showcasing both the lovely and the analytical side of me. So, hopefully you enjoyed my food and movie review jumpacked in a date night blogpost. Comment down below what you would like to hear from me next.


This has been @nikkabomb saying, "Better an oop's than what if's!"

P.S.
Seriously, WATCH the movie! Hahaha! I'd like to hear your reviews about it.

P.P.S.
Oh yeah, the dinner we had costs 2.2SBD only! Hahaha Go and check their other dish in their Asian menu and be amazed as it brings you to our neighboring countries. Hehehe

Sort:  

An amazing platform for that!
Nice to see fellow cebuanos here, its been a great opportunity for us to showcase hidden talents.

I'm no writer myself but this platform has changed me over time. I have not mastered the art of writing though but I think I had some significant improvements hehehe. Wish you best of luck @febradaytamarra.

Oh no @nikkabomb. I have seen both the previous Maze Runner movies at the cinema and was planning to watch the 3rd one. I just read your post except about the review (to surprise myself while watching the movie). Because of your title, I'm pretty scared right now. haha.

hahahaha A friendly advice my friend, "better an oops than what if." you better watch it hahaha the title was just some sort of "reverse psychology". watch and tell me your views.

Yes I will! I was planning on writing a movie review about it, we'll see. :)

That's great to hear. Yey. I'm sooo excited. When are you planning to watch?

I'll try to watch hopefully this week. I'm just looking for someone to go with me. haha

oh. how about @brokemancode? tell him to go with you. so you could watch na. haha

He's always busy. I'll try to convince him to go with me. Haha

Thanks for the head up! hahaha

though I wasnt really planning on watching it on IMAX. :)

watch it jc hahahaha and torture your brain for how cliché the plot is hahaha. wow imax ha 😂

The part that caught me most is the fooood. It looks expensive 😯

It really is kinda expensive 😂 but d mn pd na mahurot sa duha ra ka tawo haha.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nikkabomb
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=why-should-you-not-watch-maze-runner-death-cure-a-date-night-with-him


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Kumusta nikkabomb! :) some real good writing here.. I am gonna add u to my upvote list na. Keep up all the good posting! :)