HOW I WAS REJECTED BY A POTENTIAL EMPLOYER BECAUSE OF GOOD GRADES

in #life6 years ago

Wait! Is it a crime to have good grades/certificates? I was really surprised when they said this because I sincerely don’t have one. Have you ever been rejected before?
rejected.jpg
Image Source

This is a true-life story and I believe a whole lot of people here had experienced this in the past. It’s no longer a news that most Steemians have a full-time job and had possibly gone for several interviews before landing that the dream job (Some Steemians are here to have fun just like me.
).
So, I applied for this job and after several weeks, I was called for a phone interview. Mind you, I was actually working during this time and was never too desperate for a change. After the phone interview, I was invited to take some online test which I did and I guess I was successful.

Fast forward to the day I was invited to meet with the Human Resources Manager (HR) at their Head Office. I was there early and waited for about 25mins before the front desk officer told me that the HR was ready to see me.

I got into the HR Office and met some other three gentlemen, we exchanged greetings. “Tell me about yourself” he said. To cut the long story short, after looking at my CV and professional qualifications, he said: “…you have done excellently well throughout our interview stages, your CV and qualifications equally speak for you but we don’t wish to hire someone who would leave us immediately”.

I was astonished and embarrassed at the same time. I didn’t know what to think, so, the following questions kept running through my head.

i. Were they possibly looking for someone they would underpay?
ii. Were they really scared I would leave after some months?
iii. Were they not happy with their company standard or my perfomance?

rejection center.jpg
Image Source

Dear friends, I will really love to hear from you. Have you experienced anything like this? How did you cope?

Sort:  

Congratulations @nnamsky! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nnamsky! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nnamsky! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!