A late summer barbeque – I like pig butts and I cannot lie

in #life6 years ago

As I already told you about I had a spontaneous late summer barbeque this week. Late summer might be a little exaggerated since it was already pretty damn cold but it was a blast anyhow!

The bass player of my band has an amazing garden with an adorable little cottage in it and he invited me and some friends over for a BBQ this wednesday. His garden is a little bit like alice’s wonderland for me: there are always new things to discover. This time I found out he has a bathtub behind one of the bushes. Yes, A FUCKING OUTDOOR BATHTUB IN A GARDEN!! So when he asked me if I wanna come I instantly searched for my thermos tights and accepted his invitation.

image1.jpeg

One of of my friend brought his son with him who is a goddamn cute and funny little guy. When I arrived he came to me and showed me his violin case. Yup, my little hippie-homie brought his violin to a BBQ. I asked him to play a song for me and he started playing one of the most horrible violin concerts I’ve ever heard but I couldn’t stop clapping. He was jumping and dancing around while playing, so I joined in. Suddenly everybody else was clapping and laughing because I must've looked pretty silly jumping around with this violin playing garden gnome. When we were done we bowed down and thelittle munchkin said in a completely serious tone: ‘sorry. I think my violin was not tuned.’ Everybody had tears of laughter then but when he played the fifth concert without tuning the violin it got a little irritating. I think that little boy tried to trick us and he is not able to play violin at all. Must be that way. I mean, I’d do it that way if I had a violin.

Someone brought coal made out of very dry, veeeery old corncobs for the BBQ. So when we started the fire these damn corncobs burned very fast but only for like two minutes. Then they went out. So we put more of ‘em on there. The fire started to burn acceptable but these goddamn corncobs…. They. Smoked. Us. The owner of the garden just said: ‘If anyone ever brings corncoal again it’s the last time he or she’ll be here.’ So: don’t you ever buy those little pieces of hell. They’re no fun at all.

image2.jpeg

Well, so when the smoke was gone a little I wanted to participate actively in the grilling process because I couldn’t stand the picture of all women sitting at the table, playing with the kids and only men around the BBQ. Yep, sometimes I’m a tiny feminist. Or as I like to call myself: a powerpussy. So I told the guys that they can relax a bit an grabbed the grill tong. What happened then could probably be the reason why I won’t be allowed to take over at BBQs ever again. I took this grill tong and it just fell apart. So I had two useless pieces of metal in my hands, standing there, at least four men looking at me totally speechless and a little horrified – what would you do in that situation?? Well, let me tell you something: don’t try to sell it as a magic trick. That doesn’t work if the two pieces won’t end up as a grill tong again. Which they did not. Well then, my duty was done and I could focuse on eating and being ashamed.

After eating tons of meat, sausages, salad, bread and dips (you can check out some recipes in my blogposts LINK & LINK) we also had a little jamsession with drums, guitars and singing. Like real hippies. Like in a real summer night.

So now I’m totally fine with saying goodbye summer, welcome autumn!

image3.jpeg

Sort:  

sounds like a really funny day, i hope you don't hate violins now :)

That looks realy cool I hope you can do another BBQ.

Yes maybe, some days are still nice and in the north of germany we are used cold days.

Congratulations @nolalumo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!