Victoria Is A Whisper Away From Becoming The First Australian State To Legalise Assisted Dying

in #life6 years ago

This is great news in my opinion. Having seen a family member of sound mind and critical thought go through the end of life process, my thoughts on assisted dying were cemented some years ago.

custom-photo-of-elderly-womans-hands-on-pink-crocheted-rug-data.jpg
abc.net.au

I'm attracted to the idea of an individual having choice over their life decisions and when pain or other circumstances make life insufferable, the right to terminate one's life in a considered manner is a critical part of such choices and one the state should not be interfering with.

The situation in Victoria has been dragging on in my mind. I can only imagine what those waiting for the change in law must feel if in insufferable pain. It's xalled insufferable, after all, as it cannot be tolerated.

According to this article, just yesterday saw an emotional passing of the euthanasia legislation (albeit with amendments that require ratification) after a huge 28 hour upper house sitting. I'll quote the main points here for those who want a digestible version of the article...

* Patients wanting to access the scheme would face two independent medical assessments before being able to obtain lethal drug
  • They must be over the age of 18, of sound mind, and have lived in Victoria for at least 12 months

  • The patient must administer the drug themselves, but a doctor could deliver the lethal dose in rare cases

I can see the motivation for restricted access to those who have just moved to Victoria as I would imagine many people around the country would want to exploit the new law for their own relief. It does however highlight the fact that people are being forced still to live in pain with no hope of recovery due only to laws.

It'sa great step forward for personal choice, my only complaint is that it's so localised and so late. Get out of the way government and give people the ability to define their own existance!

Sort:  

This is a sensitive topic and an endless discussion

Were do you draw the line? From which point can someone say oke now it’s enough..

I don’t think this is a good idea

I certainly respect your point of view @zainab25 and thank you for the input. I believe the line is drawn at the individual having choice about the most fundamental part of life. The state is a very poor instrument for imposting restrictions on ethics and morals. Abuse of this situation is no different conceptually to abuse of any other situation in which a person comes to harm. Laws don't stop those who break the law, they only make for more arduous conditions for law abiding folk and in this case, the results are potentially years of excruciating pain.

True, that's also a good point, years of excruciating pain is a good reason for doing this.

This is a subject were you never can pleae everyone.. there are people for and people against is. There is no middle way in this.

Hopefully people use it wise when they are able to do this.

I am moving there! This is a huge issue, that deserves much more acceptance than it is getting.. It has been a subject of interest to me since my own mom chose palliative care when diagnosed with cancer and died a horrible death from morphine overdose. All the while begging to go sooner. Why. Why can't we decide. Thanks so much for this post. Haven't thought about for awhile. Appreciate the hope.

Lovely to read your reply. It is personal for many and I've yet to hear someone who's seen someone go through it not push for the rights of the individual.

Hold hands and promise

This is a sensitive issue that has been hotly debated in many countries. I can see both sides of the coin but in my mind a person should have the right to decide.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Thanks for breaking this down for me. It is such a complex issue.

It's an issue that attracts many opinions. Some see problems, others see potential. Thanks for the comment 😊

For me personally I haven't had experience with someone going through that kind of ordeal so I think its best to leave it to those who have such as yourself. I can't imagine how horrific it is to watch a loved one suffer so much.

And that's certainly fair enough. I had a family member say to me something like "for me, I'd like to be able to say good bye to each of you now and end on a good note. I hope when you reach this point you will have more choice."

That hits right in the heart <3