You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That Post You Almost Didn't Notice Until You Saw This Fancy Title and then Couldn't Resist Looking

in #life5 years ago

It starts with the one producing the content, whatever that content is. It's not up to the code, or the curators. That comes after the content is produced. I hope people can see why it's important to improve. I had a few extra minutes to browse and far too many producers go with the bare minimum, or it's a post for a contest, or a theme like writing for five minutes. Hard to find new unique stuff.

I know there's some out there who think, Once I start seeing higher payouts, then I'll work harder. That's backwards, because they'll never see the value rise. Now, hopefully, quality will improve, and curation will be easier, plus more rewarding.

You cracked the code in that image, with your addition, but I won't say much more, other than I do actually wear a helmet. My brains still get rattled though!

Sort:  

There is a process of not working unless getting paid for it. Sounds great, but there are a lot of people not working.

I have heard the argument, "I don't get out of bed unless I am getting at least xxx a day" too.

What they have to ask themselves is, how many days do they get out of bed. I get out of bed everyday, whether it is for x, xxx or xxxxx.

I think I am going to change my about me to, "digital artist"

Three years later, after starting at the bottom, it looks like I just barely made that 20 they're talking about when they speak of this new reward curve, so far. There's a tiny bit more than ten hours worth of work in this post. Of course, I hope things improve with this hardfork. In three years, those folks starting out now should hopefully see a better result than this, which is why things had to change. That's the part many don't realize, it seems, and that's all I can really say, other than I think you should leave the digital art up to me, and you can stick to writing, because you're clearly better with words.

it looks like I just barely made that 20 they're talking about when they speak of this new reward curve, so far.

I think it will be less. However, if this is only at the Steem layer (which it is) it could be a brilliant thing for Steem as combined with DVs, there might be some very good and well rewarded contributors coming to the fore which should attract attention on steem, and then onto the SMTs and communities.

I think you should leave the digital art up to me, and you can stick to writing, because you're clearly

I could do digital art. I just don't want to. ;D

I was thinking about after the fork bringing in some more creative stuff again. I actually see what I write about Steem as creative though as there is a fair bit of work that goes into building the vision of a piece without getting too lost in the technical aspects - but it is still steem content...

It might(should) help quality rise up, BUT, if that just gets buried with paid votes, there will have to be a UI change that places the PROMOTED bidbot stuff into a different tab. Curation needs to mean something. My vote should always help boost something up, not be a pointless endeavor like it has been since bidbots. There's changing and there's fixing and organization. Nothing wrong with sorting the pile.

Mess around with Krita. It's a free program with many buttons. Works fine with a mouse as well if you don't have the high tech stuff.

When it comes to content, I'm looking forward to raising the bar. That might mean one post every two days instead of daily. It would be cool to do something awesome, once per week, and earn from that one post what seven daily posts would earn. A weekly episode. If that kind of thing caught on instead of this short attention span trend the internet seems to rely on, we'd see some amazing things here. For instance, have you ever noticed how short novel chapters are here, compared to a book? Mini chapters. An author should feel comfortable posting the entire real chapter in one shot. I honestly think the short chapters make the novel nearly impossible to read and enjoy, since you're only getting small chunks each day, and 24 hours is a long time to wait for another paragraph, when I can nearly finish an entire book in that time.

It definitely would be nice to write once a week for a decent reward. If this is to come it is gong to be through the different interfaces where one article will get the support, but other interfaces will hold all the other short-form crap we do day to day, without expecting it to earn much.

It's nice to have a venue for nearly everything. Just need to fill up those seats now.

I am hoping that the DAO will be used to streamline onboarding, signup and the like to get asses in seats.