You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still Pissed Off About That Time You Did Something Awesome and Nobody Noticed?

in #life5 years ago

not many people really understand how many efforts could be put in a single art photo.

I've run into that problem before. People see the finished product, not the hours that led up to it. All of my digital art starts as a blank digital canvas and I go from there. Upload it, add 50 words, then get accused of shit posting. "$10 for fifty words?!?! This post would take me five minutes to write!" And somehow they missed the eight hours I spent on the art right under their nose. That's happened to me on a few occasions so I'll often feel forced to do art/writing combos, but I don't mind, and I think the writing helps people get to know me better, or at least leave feeling entertained.

The one photo say nothing crowd literally puts up one photo, and says nothing, or very little. They don't even indicate if the photo is theirs. Often the photos are snap shots of the sky from a cell phone or something equally simplistic. What those folks do is actually make your experience here, as a professional, much harder. When I'm on the hunt and out curating, I have to sift through a mountain of junk. It becomes tedious and the actual, real photographers, with the quality work, don't get seen. It helps to do things that'll make your work stand out from that crowd.

Every month I'll put all my most recent artwork into one post. 20 to 30 pieces if it's been a productive month. It has helped me over the years. If you're putting out a lot in a week, a followup post with all of that work in one space and some commentary would most likely allow others to get to know you and your work better.

Sort:  

Oh well.. as curator of Photostreem i'm passing through a shitload of such snapshots daily :D Hard task yeah!

Good thing we all got a raise!