You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Post About Nothing Published in the Worst Possible Timeslot

in #life3 years ago (edited)

Well, entertainer types are still being real and authentic. I know that initial grind and then some of the lulls in between didn't feel fake. Plenty of folks use their real names but I always sense a bit of showmanship when I watch them work. You'll see it if you look for it. They'll always put their game face on.

Sort:  

Well, entertainer types are still being real and authentic.

THAT is the eureka part for me! 💡 Albeit, embarrassingly late.

It's not persona versus authenticity... but persona with authenticity.

I experienced the union of them while reading your post, and I think that's how I (finally) grasped the a-ha.

So I'm now musing about my own game face, and will be more attentive to showmanship in general.

I think I had an unhelpful idea about it in the past... as being insincere or withholding. Whatever kind of judgment it was, it's been limiting me and my effectiveness as a communicator. #freeing #revelation

Couldn't fake the writing ability. Couldn't fake the art. Couldn't fake the jokes. All I could really do there was gradually improve. I experimented with plenty of characters. It gave me a lot of freedom. Some days I completely stepped out of character to do something serious, tell a story, talk about things like I did here. This was my first post on Hive though: https://peakd.com/life/@nonameslefttouse/hello-i-m-new-guy-i-hope-to-be-wonderful-at-hive-someday-please-vote-me-i-vote-you-thank-you-love-you-too

That's totally not me but it was a lot of fun to write.

😂🤣 Well, with a punny muse like Poosie!! 🤣😂

I was 100% ENTHRALLED.

The hilarity. The sheer wild-n-craziness. The shitty grammar. It's brilliant. And I now GET IT... said a new fan for life. Please remain an active Hiver for always, @nonameslefttouse.

Seriously.

This post showed me a real-life, nuanced tweak I can make to be a better writer. And the post you linked to made me momentarily drop my angst, and laugh my ass off.

Just for contrast and kicks, here's my version of a squirting llama:

https://steemit.com/life/@erikaharris/an-african-sex-technique-where-men-get-to-worship-at-the-throne-of-vagina-and-bow-before-the-queen-clitoris-a-researched

Boiled that one down to a science hey.

Well, since we're on the topic now...
https://peakd.com/funny/@nonameslefttouse/there-will-be-no-vagina-today

Boiled that one down to a science hey.

Haha. Y'know, in hindsight, I guess it IS pretty formulaic! I love to research, and do prefer precise clarity whenever possible, so that's how it expressed at the time.

You, on the other hand, build vaginas... that are really fences!

Trans-humanist?

(This is my attempt at humor... which I know I've now ruined with an awkward explanation, only left to not appear rude. So I opted for neurotic, instead.)

Don't worry. I still chuckled before the explanation, then laughed at the explanation.