FINDING YOURSELF AGAIN…

in #lifelast year

My partner and I were having a conversation about motivation. We both have been struggling to get back to doing the things we used to do; the things that gave us purpose and joy.

It is difficult trying to proffer any meaningful solution to my (our) lack of motivation. The best I (we) can do is have an honest discussion about it and try to help each other out of this situation.

They say if you decide to do anything based on feelings alone, you end up doing nothing or achieving anything worthwhile. My strategy so far has been to work through my disinterest and hopefully find my passion again--for something. However, on some days, it seems the universe is conspiring against me. I break down but pick myself up again. This seemingly endless cycle will take a toll on anybody.

At our very core, we all crave stability. With stability comes order--some level of predictability. With this comes the ability or desire to plan and create. This is why I am wary of the capricious nature of the world around me. Although I may not worry as much as I once did, I still crave some level of certainty and order.

Just the little things…

We often fall into the trap of worrying about the big things and neglecting what's important--the little thing. I keep reminding myself that if I want to make big changes, I need to start with the little steps. Maybe in making that quantum leap, the universe would nudge me forward (or backward). The bottom line is that the effort accumulates over time.

Do what you can…

We are our biggest critics. We put undue pressure on ourselves to achieve the impossible sometimes while ignoring our effort. Sometimes we need that push to move to the next level, other times it is just a means for self-sabotage. There are times when my efforts seem inadequate. However, I believe it matters.

There is no complete template for this thing called life. We all are learning through our experiences and those around us. If we do understand and appreciate the fact that we are all students of life, we can approach it with an open mind and with little or no disappointments.

Image Source

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @nonsowrites ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

It's difficult to get motivated sometimes and that's a part of life. I need to start focusing more on the little things.

Yeah I guess. We all go through this phase once in a while. I guess I will outlive mine

It is well

This is definitely what I needed to read! Thank you for this piece.... I should constantly remind myself that it's okay to have ups and downs as nobody has life figured out

I am glad this post resonates with you. Thanks for stopping by...

Every step you take matters,
no matter how insignificant it seems at that time. Remember, the journey of a 1000 miles begins with one step.

Yeah I suppose. Thanks for stopping by...