Discovering My Creative Type | The Maker

in #life5 years ago (edited)


Photo source: Adobe Create Magazine

Creative Types...never thought those existed. Just like personality types, creative types exist as a way to analyze behavioral characteristics. Except these behavioral characteristics pertain to well... your creativity :)


Photo source: Adobe Create Magazine

I am The Maker

"Creative Strengths
Focus and dedication, ability to achieve mastery

Untapped Potential
Taking creative risks, finding joy and play in the process

The Maker
Driven, focused, and dedicated to the creative process, the MAKER has mastered the art of manifesting ideas and visions in three-dimensional form. Society greatly benefits from the work of MAKER types, who develop the systems, structures, tools, and innovations that the rest of us rely on.

One of the hardest workers of all the types, the MAKER is almost always busy solving problems, making headway on personally meaningful goals, and completing projects. There are few things that bring you more satisfaction than applying your brain power to crafting things and making progress in any form. You tend to excel in design, crafts, architecture, and other fields that blend artistry with business and technology.

You’re driven by tangible results, and you know how to deliver. A quiet type, you enjoy collaboration but generally prefer to work alone so you can focus on your own creative process.

You know how to play the long game, and you’re not afraid to do the unglamorous legwork that goes into building something of value over time. Your gifts of focus and dedication can lead to achieving mastery and coming to be seen by others as an authority in your field.

Your biggest challenge? To connect more deeply with your intuition and emotions in order to bring forth ever more authentic and original work. Productivity is only half the equation of doing great work—the other half is inspiration. Creating the space to dream, imagine, and play can keep your work from becoming rote and mechanical."

Green Line Separator.png

Growing up I always loved to draw and make up all kinds of things. Recently I actually found a drawing pad full of sketches from when I was around 8 or 9. They are quite something...maybe I'll come back and add a photo.

Since my childhood days of sketching I have gravitated toward a "methodical" creativity. I've grown up watching my dad build everything from steel structures to residential homes. I became fascinated with construction at a young age. Nowadays in my studio courses I often focus on this practical construction perspective as a base and manipulate ideas from there.

Surprisingly enough, my creative type aligns exactly with my passion for architecture...

I don't usually do quizzes like this, I mean who wants to answer "are you a fortune cookie or a birthday cake?" But this one actually seems pretty accurate to me, but might not be for everyone. If you take the quiz, drop a comment, I'm curious about the other types on the quiz :)

Follow the link to find out your creative type: https://mycreativetype.com/

As always thank you for reading, have a beautiful Tuesday–