Drooling with Boredom - Staying Inside

in #life4 years ago (edited)

Nothing Interesting to Talk About

So there is nothing going on around here. I've been stuck in my 3rd floor apartment for weeks now and am about to lose my mind! Honestly, I would never have moved into this apartment a couple of years ago if I didn't have access to all of the trails and walking paths a few miles down the road.

1P3A5439.jpg

For now, the only nature I have to look at is the few plants I happen to have on my balcony. I've been spending my afternoons gazing at the green leaves on my sad little fig tree.

1P3A5446.jpg

I've noticed that when I don't have access to nature, I tend to clench my jaw a bit more than usual. It is just further evidence to me that our relationship with plants is much more symbiotic than just a simple food source. There is certainly a psychological connection that cannot be quantified!

1P3A5444.jpg

Also, I keep doing repetitive actions, such as opening the closet and staring at my glorious mining rigs from 2017 that basically made it possible to get my stake on this very platform. Of course, with the gift of hindsight I didn't even come close to breaking even when you consider the crypto crash, electricity and time invested.

A Time For Contemplation

I suppose you can say it has been a great time to unwind and rethink what's important in life. One side effect of the social isolation has been a massive improvement in air pollution. In all my years living in Los Angeles, I've never seen the sky so clear! This should be a wake up call for us all.

Somehow I don't think things will ever be quite like they used to be. Who knows what the new normal will be after this! Stay safe, my friends.

Sort:  

Thinking, planning and rethinking should make it easier in the future hopefully. 😊👍

That's true! I tend to do everything by the seat of my pants, though. haha

Like most of us lol

I would be going a little crazy right now too if we weren't able to get out and walk at the park and things like that. I wish I could have gotten in on the whole mining thing sooner than I did. Actually, I wish I could have gotten in on the whole crypto thing in general sooner than I did. Now I feel like I am just playing catch up.

Yeah, I made a huge mistake back around 2009 or 2010.. I had been reading about 'bitcoin' and downloaded the mining software. I solo mined like 2 blocks (50 coins each) but then read somewhere that it was illegal or some shit. Then I heard that cops were busting people for it or something.

I really didn't dive in deep enough. I just deleted every trace of the software off my computer and deleted the keys. It was worth nothing at the time. They were worth about 5c apiece I think, and I couldn't even figure out how to sell them, other than meeting a shady guy in a dark alley.

I didn't get back into it until 2016 when I found out that I had thrown away a small fortune. You live and you learn, I guess. I sure wish I had those 'measly' 100 bitcoins now though.

Oh man, that is horrible. I have my own coulda shoulda woulda moments too, so don't feel bad. Hopefully we are all set to make out alright with the next bull run!

That's a good story, although sad as it is. Hindsight can be a killer if you dwell on it.

Yeah, I've made tons of these kinds of mistakes; but you live and learn I guess.