Depression

in #life6 years ago

I remember that evening when I felt my whole world was crumbling, a thousand thoughts running through my head. Thoughts of giving up and dropping out of school was hovering all over me.

I was tired of my beloved course (Architecture)
I was tired of staying up and drawing till late into the night, only for a lecturer to grade you anyhow. !

C360_2016-08-15-19-34-31.jpg
(when I cried my eyes out)

I was tired of the constant nagging from them remembering me of my gender and how they think I can't cope in the field because of it.

I was tired of everything, and I concluded that neither school nor Architecture was meant for me.

But just when I was about to throw in the towel, I took a stroll around the school for one last time before leaving the next morning, I remember the people who told me I do nice designs, I remember my parents who never failed to acknowledge how good I have been in my field, I remember when I told myself I'll fight to the end, how I am my own motivation.

The positive things I remembered rekindled that desire in me once again. Now I look back and I smile that I gave myself another chance and shut doors of negative criticism.

Whatsoever you're depressed about right now, remember you are your own motivation! Pick yourself up and aim for that gold, don't just throw in the towel yet cos you will get there, we will all get there some day! 😘🙌💪✌👌

Sort:  

Yes Girl! Stand up and be strong!
There is a German phrase ''Du bist deinem eigenen Glückes Schmied" means Everyone is the architect of his/her own fortune.

Thank you! Will keep on fighting till the end.