One of the first school shooters was actually a teenage girl. ‘I don’t like Mondays’ was her explanation

in #life6 years ago

On the morning of January 29, 1979, teenager Brenda Spencer took a break from shooting people through her window to answer the phone. On the other end was a reporter from the San Diego Tribune. He asked a few short questions to confirm that the young girl was indeed the culprit. “Yeah,” Spencer said. “Who do you think’s doing the shooting?”
The reporter then asked “Why?” and the answer Spencer gave would become famous. “I don’t like Mondays,” she said. “This livens up the day.”

We've been failing kids forever. Just a reminder 1979 was one of the first mass shootings at a school. By a girl. It's guns, its poverty, it's abuse, it's mental issues... it's stoppable.

We just have to want to address all the issues. Could you image the casualties with an AR-15 in 15 minutes?

Read the story here:
https://timeline.com/school-shooter-brenda-spencer-bf98e8bf106
brespe.jpg

aXWdAo4.gif

Thanks for checking in.
~Leticia @nytowl

Sort:  

I feel like people forget about Brenda Spencer. But you're so right-what if it was an AR-15???

I struggle to understand the justification for any civilian having an automatic weapon. They're designed for warfare. Allowing them into homes and onto the streets brings warfare into homes and onto streets. Maybe I don't get it because it's a cultural thing but it just doesn't make sense to me.

Also, my friend told me about the song named after it, but didn't quite have her facts right... I spent 2 years very confidently and very incorrectly giving out the trivia that Brenda Spencer was the inspiration for Manic Monday by The Bangles

The Boomtown Rats, "I Don't Like Mondays" is the song they're referring to.

Bob Geldof went on the organize LIVE AID in 1985, as well as starring in the movie, "Pink Floyd, The Wall"