Sort:  

Can you clarify? Are you referring to the halide detox or iodine supplementation in general?

Regarding the halide detox, it is indeed risky irregardless of whether it occurs intentionally or not, and that is why I have issued extreme caution on that matter. For me personally, 7 years ago I was dying from late stage lyme disease that was still undiagnosed at that time, and was struggling with the onset of acute kidney and liver failure; it was a terrifying experience. I have embarked on many 'risky' endeavors these past several years in a bid for life.

The halide detox was especially difficult and I was unable to complete it, but I felt like it helped me tremendously. For people who are coasting along through life comfortably in good health, I would not recommend going out of their way to upset the apple cart; iodine can be supplemented in far gentler ways.

If it is iodine supplementation which you are referring to as risky, can you expound? The typical Japanese dietary intake includes dozens of times more iodine than the standard American Diet.