A Subtle Side Effect of Not Assuming Responsibility

in #life6 years ago

Giving Simple Advice Has Turned into a Legal Contract

Before I ventured into adulthood, I was well-known among my friends for my good advice. When people needed to clear their minds and get a second opinion on their situation, I was often the go-to. Needless to say, not every time I gave advice things turned out perfectly. When the advice I gave didn’t give the results I expected, I offered help, but it was rarely demanded. Perhaps the more sour people would resent me to a small degree, but in general things worked out for the best.

Fast-forward to 2017 and I’m an active participant in a cryptotrader community with thousands of active users. Never in my life I had been surrounded by so many Americans, even if in a virtual sense. This helping spirit that I used to have was slowly drowned by people blaming me for their mistakes. Over a few months I was sucked into the lawsuit culture, so to speak. Instead of people working out problems, everyone had a hostile undertone. Any suggestion became financial advice. Any comment became a personal attack. Perhaps I didn’t make many people rich before my will to freely help others died out, but at least I seriously helped dozens. Now I basically help no one.

That is a side effect of not sucking up to mistakes. Constantly looking to delegate fault to others will pushing them to shutting in. Being unable to accept the blame of decisions turns a community into a colosseum. The prisoner’s dilemma strikes yet again. A few users will backstab their community to cover for their losses. If they can’t win from the communal support, no one will.

The worst part of this is that we are talking about anonymous internet strangers. I wonder how people in countries whose population sues over anything can have a normal life. You can’t have a conversation without being at risk of being held responsible for accidental professional advice. A physician can’t help neighbours because if he doesn’t perfectly cure them, they might cost him a few thousand dollars. Perhaps next time someone offers your honest advice, and it doesn’t work out, don’t immediately rush to blame that person. Rather than blaming someone else, think of a way to solve the issue, not to wipe your hands.