You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is It Right That Professional Football Players Earn So Much More Than Doctors?

in #life7 years ago

Interesting and well-differentiated post. Have thought about this myself - in my opinion (and as others have pointed out), this is how the market works. If K. Kardashian makes millions out of selling herself, I'm impressed about that. While this doesn't require a high amount of skill or ornate studies, it is still something most people can't accomplish. To me, this ultimately elucidates in what irrational ways modern society sets its priorities. I still think that our Healthcare system is amazing - I can break a leg, attend the doctor, will receive the best treatment available, medication and assistence. However, healthcare seems to be valued less than K. Kardashian, or, as you point out, professional football players. As healthcare is provided safely, folks take it as granted, loosing sight of the precious benefits they actually obtain. I've noted this phenomenon to be symptomatic for "1st world" countries, and I do assess it in a negative way - increasing standards will foster loosing sight of how good our live actually is, increasing the distance between social layers and states.