You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Human Beings Have The Right To End Their Lives?

in #life7 years ago

I agree on the complexity of this issue, and I have spent a lot of time thinking about related questions. Even though I know that it not possible nor expedient, I do feel that regret and sadness over the suicide of a beloved one is not an appropriate reaction. If somebody comes to the conclusion of ending one's life (and not in an affective, unconscious way), this is a choice of free will everybody has to accept. However, as the person knows, what sadness and regret he is about to bring upon his close ones, this might interfere with his free decision, ultimately preventing him from suicide. However, these people now intervene in a choice witch is not theirs to choose. For sure, I do see that it's not always as black and white as that. In a lot of cases, said suicidal person might be the main breadwinner of a family, financially ruining all the other members and so on ...
I only feel, that the own will of persons with suicidal thoughts gets neglected a lot.