The 2013 Bohol Earthquake: “I once was a victim.”

in #life6 years ago (edited)

image.png


The picture above shows how the earthquake destroyed our house. It is way back October 2013 when I’m a 4th year high school. It was the deadliest earthquake in the Philippines with a 7.2 magnitude in 23 years since the 1990 Luzon earthquake.


It was around 8:00 in the morning when I was at the house of my classmate doing some requirement activities for the examination. Suddenly, I heard a thunder-like sound coming, a sound of the shaking roofs. I don’t know what to do and feel very confused. I was dragged by my classmate to come out and it was like, “Is it the end of the world”? I still don’t understand about the happening. I saw the faces of my classmates with full of fears and confusions. As the shaking stopped, we walked in an open area and saw some people crying, wounded and out of senses. I saw the church and our school collapsed, burning houses, and cracked roads. Then someone shouted that tsunami is coming. It was like I’m in a movie shooting. My mind was still in process of sinking in all the happenings. I still doubted if all of these were true and hoping that everything was just a dream until I saw myself crying, walking with no slippers and keep mentioning my mother. I don’t know if they were all fine or injured, since I’m not at our house. Everything was just a glimpse of an eye! It was a fine morning, then the tragedy came unexpectedly. Until now, aftershocks still continue to rattle Bohol.


image.png image.png

Our living became harder and uncomfortable but everything slowly goes back into its place with God's greatness and love.

Pictures were taken using Canon camera.

Sort:  

in u ha vien..dakoa damage lagi..