Growing up in the 70's

in #life7 years ago

I was born in Feburay of 1972. I grew up in a small town in Indiana where everybody knew everyone. You could let your kids play outside and not have to worry about them because everyone looked out for everyones kids (and would tell your parents when you were being bad).

Just like in the tv show "Stranger Things" our bikes were our cadillacs. Everyone had a bike, and if you didn't, we would get together and build you one. Nobody knows where they came from, but we all had extra bike parts and could build them or replace parts in a matter of minutes.

Just thinking about all the hotwheels cars and star wars figures that are probably still burried in the backyard of my childhood home. And yes those would be original star wars figures, i'm old. That's a lot of money there, it's like burried treasure.

I don't want to sound tough, but if you survived before technology and video games, you're kind of a badass. With nothing to keep us inside glued to the TV, we found all kinds of things to almost kill ourselves with lol. Falling out of trees, falling off bridges, falling off roofs.... now that i think about it maybe I was just clumsy. But I was on a first name basis with the emergency room staff.

It's kinda sad that most kids today will never know what it's like to get knocked out playing stickball in the neighbors yard (neighbor girl cracked my skull with a big stick). I have a lot of scars from childhood but I wouldn't trade it for the world. The best memories were from a time that I got the most hurt.

I hope you read this and got a laugh and not traumatized. Have a great day!

Sort:  

Congratulations @oldman-newlife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!