One of the scariest things as a parent!

in #life7 years ago

One of the scarriest things that ever happened to me was the day I got a text message from my ex-wife saying my son was in an accident and he's at the hospital. My heart sank, my mind went blank and I just grabbed my keys and left.

The normally 30 min drive to the hospital took only 20 min. I couldn't get my ex to answer her phone, which made my mind race wondering why she wouldn't or couldn't answer. I was physically shaking standing at the desk in the emergency room trying to get information. When i finally get back to see him I walk into this.

As you can see, he was really out of it. After about 30 min he was starting to make sense again. In the end, a very bad concussion, 16 staples in his head and lots of cuts, bumps and bruises.
When I spoke to the county sherrif that had arrived on scene he told me an older couple called it in and stopped to help him. They found him just standing covered in blood at the side of the road. And no one is really sure how he made it out of the truck.

The reason I'm sharing this is so maybe you will remember that tomorrow is never promised. Never let an opportunity to tell anyone you love them pass by.
Hope everyone has a great weekend!!