The Urge to Picnic

in #life6 years ago

Who can resist,

at this time of year,

the growing urge

to go for a picnic?

PicnicOne1280px-Thomas_Cole'__The_Picnic_,_Brooklyn_Museum_IMG_3787.JPG
The artist Thomas Cole depicted "The Picnic" prior to 1860.

"A picnic is a meal taken outdoors (al fresco) as part of an excursion – ideally in scenic surroundings, such as a park, lakeside, or other place affording an interesting view, or else in conjunction with a public event such as preceding an open-air theatre performance[1], and usually in summer.

Picnics are usually meant for the late mornings or midday breakfasts, but could also be held as a luncheonette or a dinner event. Descriptions of picnics show that the idea of a meal that was jointly contributed and was enjoyed out-of-doors was essential to a picnic from the early 19th century.[2]

Picnics are often family-oriented but can also be an intimate occasion between two people or a large get together such as company picnics and church picnics. It is also sometimes combined with a cookout, usually a form of barbecue; either grilling (griddling, gridironing, or charbroiling), braising (by combining a charbroil or gridiron grill with a broth-filled pot), baking, or a combination of all of the above.

Picnic_in_Columbus.jpg
A picnic party assembling in Columbus, Ohio, c. 1950

On romantic and family picnics, a picnic basket and a blanket (to sit or recline on) are usually brought along. Outdoor games or some other form of entertainment are common at large picnics. In established public parks, a picnic area generally includes picnic tables and possibly other items related to eating outdoors, such as built-in grills, water faucets, garbage containers, and restrooms.

Some picnics are a potluck, an entertainment at which each person contributed some dish to a common table for all to share. When the picnic is not also a cookout, the food eaten is rarely hot, instead taking the form of deli sandwiches, finger food, fresh fruit, salad, cold meats and accompanied by chilled wine or champagne or soft drinks."
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Picnic

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

Well, here's a couple

PicnicTwocamera download 770.JPG

of my favorite places

PicNicPlace2camera download 761.JPG

to picnic!

PicnicPlace1camera download 070.JPG

How about showing me one of yours?

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

  • first two images are from the wiki article cited
  • other photos are from ones that @twiceuponatime left behind

ouzo and out,
@onceuponatime

May the Good Lord grant you relief from any mosquitoes, black flies, noseeums and bears on all your picnics!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

My flamingo approves this post

IMG_20180609_151115154.jpg

Flamingos must be amongst the wisest of birds!

Hello my dear @onceuponatime hope that you're good today This drawing is a humble gift for you hope you accept it and like it.
This is the picture: https://steemit.com/drawing/@soufianechakrouf/a-gift-for-onceuponatime
This is the video: https://steemit.com/dtube/@soufianechakrouf/976gc0p4

Awesome languorous summer mood you spread with this picnic cheer. I love picnics. We used to go for innumerable picnic and treks in the himalayan foothills. But it has been ages since I went home. You brought the memories flooding back, @onceuponatime
Delhi heat pushes you indoors. :(

On my occasional mandatory trips to Delhi in the summer months I couldn't wait to get back to the Kulu Valley. The heat in Delhi was oppressive beyond endurance :-)

I totally agree. Beyond endurance it is.
Water(swimming) and Air conditioning is the only respite here.
Lucky you that you only had to come here for occasional visits and your main stay was in Kulu Valley :)

My some photowork for you and I create a post about you . please check

https://steemit.com/onceuponatime/@anikearn/my-best-photowork-for-onceuponatime-2018-06-09-13-23-31

4ad31080-5eb4-48a8-9704-055fc345e964.jpeg

f503f886-358a-4edd-af00-b954bd49e4b7.jpeg

688ffceb-0197-4e54-9787-62d3f1c730e3.jpeg

9839fc6f-dc96-413c-94be-afc5add53dbc.jpeg

94602879-a2a7-4cf2-bd29-73ba973ac347.jpeg

I have not a favorite place for picnic, maybe because since I was a child I use to walk in the forests close to home to search mushrooms with my parents and we use to take a break to eat (usually bread and salama or something similar ^_^). I would to have a romantic picnic with Paolo, but before I have to persuade him to walk in the forest for a bit :D

Tell him about the great food and bottle of wine you have planned for him if he goes with you on a forest picnic. That should do the trick :-)

We love to eat outdoors. Our favorite way to picnic is on the water!

IMG_20170708_194138.jpg

IMG_20170708_194131.jpg

No ants out here!

IMG_20170708_194202.jpg

Probably no mosquitoes out there either!!!

Exactly, at least till sundown, then they still find us!

I couldn't resist this one! My closest spot, walking distance, heading to the market along the beach at weekends. I might do this right now in fact. This unfeasibly beautiful lady will make you a tasty local salad, just a little spicey (or NOT, "MAI PHET"), on request, and packed with nutrients:

IMG_0324.JPG
Then you can grab a paper plate of BBQ king prawns from these guys ...
IMG_0321.JPG
Pull a cold beer from another vendor or 7-11, find a spot and picnic away .. (Market above is under the trees along beach in this photo, I've headed up the fishing dock ...
IMG_0288.jpg
Location: Almost any seaside town or fishing village in Southeast Asia :)

Yes, if to picnic is your aim, it can occur almost anywhere :-)

#Sundays are the best :)

You have a picnic at church?

No religious reference, just a mandatory day of rest and a good day for such things! More likely to be a Buddhist temple around here, which may well involve food, nowhere are you safe from picnic supplies here in Thailand.

There is nothing to be compared with people gathering and having a wonderful meal together just like a occasions like birthday and others.

May the Good Lord grant you relief from any mosquitoes, black flies, noseeums and bears on all your picnics!

Well, that depends on the environment the picnic is scheduled to take place, though flies will always do there job but they had no parent and have to eat lol .

Do you feel the same about mosquitos (that they have to eat)? If so, better your blood than mine :-)

They feed on human just like we feed on plant and some animals. Though, I don't like being bite by giant mosquitos,lol. Because of chronic malaria.

Well picnics are nicest in quiet and serene places really, like where there are green plants all over really, that nice little flowing underwater where you are, is certainly amazing.

Here, is a gentleman place where there's serenity and all,

PicsArt_01-25-08.25.49.jpg

And here, on the table, we're having chicken

IMG_20180531_194200_740.jpg

Fried chicken makes for a really great picnic!

You can imagine, I and sweetheart thought you should see this 😀😀😀😀

IMG_20180609_132922_199.jpg

IMG_20180609_132904_888.jpg

this was taking by my brother at a picnic last year. I was busy at work, I couldn't attend.

I was so mad with myself when I saw the pictures of the event, it was such a lovely gathering...

Yes, it looks like you missed out on having fun with some pretty girls!

Absolutely , I wouldn't miss it it for anything this time around..... thanks bud

Its true, picnic is another part of our live. We need to change our mind, if you go different places our mind will be changed and refreshed. Everyone have to do this. Nice to see your enjoyment, really its beautiful environment for picnic, you are looking out standing in your photography, thanks to share, have a nice day.

picnic.jpg

That looks like quite a picnic. Were you there?

No,no I'm not here ,I'm so beautiful, it's a Asian picnic, just given an idea.

This looks like a full meal!!!

I like pic nic too, usually i prepare some simple and fresh meal like a salad ( with tomatoes, cheese and fruits) or rice with mayo or Caprese salad (tomatoes and mozzarella) and i bring my pic nic bag in the woods close to my place where you can find a lot of good picnic places!

1528546596044-126775248.jpg

It an office picnic, just yesterday I snapped it before the get together between the managers started the meeting, not even know it's gonna be useful for your reply today
😂 😂 😂

I don't think that indoor meals should really count as a true picnic :-)

Months ago I do not know what it is to be present at a picnic. The atmosphere I think is the main thing, a quiet and fresh place, with good company, then the good homemade food in large quantities and then it is just a matter of enjoying the day.

That might be the meaning of life (enjoying the day). LoL

Picnics are one part of our lives, where we can experience the beauty of nature and thereby eliminate a burden on our lives.

And we can enjoy the various characteristics of food from a place

@onceuponatime,
At the moment, Picnics are absolutely not a good idea to my country people. There are running rains ~(How could I explain this sudden rains?)~~ which can blast this lovely and wonderful moment in few seconds!
Better you travel to Sri Lanka in next winter time! We can have a picnic of course!

Cheers~

A winter picnic would be very strange for me! I must try it :-)

@onceuponatime,
Ops you get it wrong! There are no winter season in my country! So you can have a picnic here lol :D

Cheers~

It was last year we haven't gone to a picnic and the last time was at the beach with the ''cook out'' idea. Unfortunately I don' thave the photos on this pc but here is a link to take an idea of the place called Ag. Eleousa at Samos island.
http://my-samos.blogspot.com/2016/11/blog-post_55.html
I guess the BBQ meetings is some kind of "cook out" picnics evolution..

Seems that they get some beautiful sunsets there!

Sea and sunset is always a success !

I love to picnic in a beautiful green park near my home that is also by the wlake....a paradise !
20170706_131113-01small.jpg
20170706_131243-02small.jpg
20170706_134205-01small.jpg

Beautiful place for a picnic!

Picnics were really fun and most treasured. It strengthens bonding and improving good relationship. I had here for share This happened last week, having picnic with my family in the park, we bring food cooked by my wife and my kids enjoy biking, running at the plaza but sad thing happen while having fun time and great bonding with the family, we lost our helmet, someone stole it away we only discovered it when we're at the parking lot and found out the helmet was lost.

received_1666531146729925.jpeg

IMG20180529173009.jpg
Thanks for the share, you have a very nice favorite picnic place. God bless

Yes, children LOVE picnics!
(Sorry to hear about losing your helmet)

Yeah, that's why I always wanted to have this kind of family bonding once a week especially during my day off, it's okay about the helmet, we'll by new one soon if had some budget.. Thanks

There is no chance for a picnic this month! It rains almost everyday. The weather is very hot and humid with mosquitoes!! So, I have my picnic on the train! It’s air conditioned and very comfortable!!

I am afraid you have mistaken the lamp post for a beautiful girl in your photo!!
I would love to have a picnic by a waterfall so I could cool my drink in the cold water and take a dip after my picnic lunch.

Enjoy life to the full everyday!

"I am afraid you have mistaken the lamp post for a beautiful girl in your photo!!"

At least I'm not wearing a lamp shade on my head :-)
I'm sorry to hear that you have so much rain, but then a picnic in a train sounds interesting!

Lobsters with a side of corn (masked by wrapping paper) on the grill for an afternoon picnic is heavenly.

IMG_0897.JPG

Yes it is!!!!

No bears here but I went for a walk today and after awhile felt the need to walk back to the car to get the mosquito repellent and apply.

I prefer bears to mosquitoes!!!

I cannot bear mosquitoes :-)

They like you :-)

They like my lady more. I heard there this theory about blood type and colour of clothes you're wearing

Soon as it gets a little warmer here in Switzerland I'll send you a pic of my favourite spot👍🏾😎

Oh my, it is still not warm enough for a picnic where you are! So bad, so sad :-)

I'm going to be annoying and send you to a post where I ADORE to have picnics! It's very artistic and rustic at the same time!
Check it out if you have time ;)
https://steemit.com/photography/@sandrina.life/the-wooden-house-and-the-garden-photo-gallery-9

The veranda of my wooden house where I can look at the sea and feel the breeze is the best place for picnics! Guaranteed.
view.jpg

I always look for the guarantee :-)

I don't really do picnics.. but I do go and sit at the park in the sun and write.. a lot!

Next time take a chocolate bar with you and call it a picnic :-)

If that counts, I have done it! :D

I just knew there was a pic-nicker somewhere deep inside of you :-)

Hahaha. No one I guess.
Who can turn a picnic let alone this time of the year ?
We are planning to leave for a camp with friends, come on mate come join us. @onceuponatime @twiceuponatime

Have you seen @twiceuponatime? Let me know if he accepts your invitation.

Not lately no.
Where has he been ?
I hope he's good.
You are invited though.

Wow what a wonderful place to go on picnic, you are killing it my boy.
upvoted and resteemed.

Now I am your "boy"? wtf :-)

your fitness shout that you are boy ;)
That's why i said, you are fit then me.

Amazing picture, the environment looks great and with mixture of beautiful lights
and add on effect of this picture is natural views.
and it makes an eye catching effect and i hope that you really enjoyed this beautiful environment. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day.
Stay blessed. ??

No photo of your favorite place for a picnic?

Picnic is the perfect excuse to share time in family and enjoy with nature :). Regards

PicNicPlace2camera download 761.JPG
So cool! Enjoy and have fun, sir!

Yes, I have already seen that photo. How about one of yours?

Very impressive!

I have not had time to picnic still Ramadan.

@onceuponatime
Wow ! extraordinary photography.what great natural view dear. very creative art aslo/
AND Beautiful pictures thank you..Greets
as a photographer i can say this is very good work!

You are just showing off your good taste :-)

When can i get a chance to go on picnic with you in your favorite place sir?

Maybe I should hold a lottery?

no man holding sbd's would do the trick ;)

I hope you enjoy a picture for you20180527_181533.jpg

Are they going in the boat for a picnic?

Beautiful scenery and very pampering the eyes. Happy picnic and stay primed, sir. Regards!

"Stay primed" - what great advice :-)

wow man you are looking handsome ...give me some tips please

Gin and tonic.

thanks for you tip@onceuponatime

A picnic or small trip always fill your heart mind and soul with new energies.

That's right!

Picnics are the best, always looking forward to having one. The view in the last picture look awesome. Stay blessed.

I'll keep trying!

Well, it's the holly month of the Muslims ( Ramadan) right after the Ramadan I am playing to visit the mountaineer areas of my country, to spend some wonderful time there with my family members. We have planed to play cricket matches there and yes we are going to buy cards and chess as well.

Outdoor games or some other form of entertainment are common at large picnics.

Well, thanks lot for the wishes to avoid from flies and mosquitoes ;)

Picnics in the mountains are great!

I remember picnic as one of the most enjoyable hobby before with friends and family. I hope those days are not gone because it surely feels awesome even now that I'm just remembering it.

It is very good to have sweet memories!

"May the Good Lord grant you relief from any mosquitoes, black flies, noseeums and bears on all your picnics!" Amen. Lol😁
I like picnics! But it has been long I last had one. Am also looking forward to have another one, lol.
More inspiration and Motivations @onceuponatime this really made my day. #lookingforwardtomynextpicnic.

Such a tremendous place you arrived picnic @onceuponatime. I'll go Seychelles for my picnic. I saw powerful expression from your face :D

I'll bet some of the world's best picnics could happen in Seychelles!

(
The perfect place for picnic.If you go there once you will never forget about it!!!
Of course Greece,Loutraki!!!

The photo does not look like Loutraki!

It is my secret place :)..20 min .away.It is very difficult to get there ,you need 4x4 or boat.Tell me if you can recognize this place.

Picnic is awesome feeling no matter with whom you goes.

I know a few people I wouldn't want to go on a picnic with!!!

my favorite place is Simos beach, Elafonisos! :)

image-0-02-01-e81327f019b0e11926911c4f960eaac041d25a7025c07d9d1d87bda2227f827d-V.jpg

For picnics?

yes next to the sea...I do many times!! it has fun! :)

Congratulations @onceuponatime!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 7 with 148 comments

Now don't you wish that you had more photos from your picnics?

I do!

I knew I would feel so too, later on if I dint. By the time I realise its value that moment will be long gone, that is why I bought my first camera a few months back to preserve each and every memory I would miss.

Picnics are great, who can resist them!

Not me!

Haha I know, it's impossible! I still remember a picnic I had with my parents, my uncles and my cousins in Pontikonisi near Corfu! It was sooo great! Too bad I don't have a picture to share!

Doing a picnic is great fun can also make our feelings become calm, picnic to enjoy the beauty of the outdoors with the family and accompanying people clearly bring joy and fun.
Like @onceuponatime

I agree. Picnics are very therapeutic.

Hello my dear @onceuponatime hope that you're good today This drawing is a humble gift for you hope you accept it and like it.
This is the picture: https://steemit.com/drawing/@soufianechakrouf/a-gift-for-onceuponatime
This is the video: https://steemit.com/dtube/@soufianechakrouf/976gc0p4

There is a place in China called Mount Huashan, it is a dangerous hike to get to the top but there is a temple on top where they serve green tea, would love to have a picnic at the top after achieving the climb.

Would be a great feeling of accomplishment!

There are 2 pages
Pages