Living with some or other autoimmune or other diseases without knowing!

in #life5 years ago

Rheumatoid arthritis in hands.jpg

Sometimes it takes a major health meltdown to get a correct diagnosis for on and off things like headache, backache swollen and sore joints, tiredness etc.
And quite often wrong diagnosis or even incorrectly prescribed medication allow a patient to suffer for years.
During the last year, I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis, after I fell and could not move. I have been complaining of joint pains for years, swollen joints, and at one stage, even referred to an orthopaedic surgeon! Fortunately, after one operation on my knee I decided against any further surgeries, now I realize that that surgery was also in fact unnecessary.
After my fall I was given an antibiotic and it got worse to the extent that I became bedridden. Until I changed to a different medical practitioner who immediately did blood tests, and phoned early three days after tests, to tell my caregiver that I need to come in immediately. I had an extremely high count of Rheumatoid Arthritis and needed immediate medication.
What a relief to have excruciation pain relief to a stage where I could cope and started walking and bending again.
Until I fell again for no reason at all, off to the same doctor who immediately took Xrays of my back...Result broken and compacted Lubar vertebrae! I was sent to a neurosurgeon in Pretoria who has an extremely high rating, he not only referred me to a Rheumatologist and Endochronologist, and had bone density tests done. For the first time, I realized that it is important to make sure that as you experience discomfort, have it seen to. Bad news on top of the Rheumatoid Arthritis, I had osteoporosis in both hips and arms!

Rheumatoid_Arthritis3-1.jpg

After a lengthy stay and powerful pain medication, change of diet and more medication I came home and decided that in future and as advice to all my friends, do not wait to get a proper diagnosis even if it means you have to change your doctors.
Rheumatoid Arthritis is as an autoimmune disease and can be debilitating, with loss of the use of hands, feet etc.
I was fortunate enough to only have minimal damage, and with the use of correct medication and diet, to lessen the side effects.
However complete lifestyle changes must be maintained.
a diet with enough fresh fruit and vegetables, rest and exercises, walking and avoiding certain foods.
how do you first experience RA?
Stiffness in joints tenderness and pain, in knees feet shoulders and hands.
Anxiety and depression, tiredness.
unexplained weight loss weakness in hands and joints, even neck
What are the risk factors?
Genetic. smoking. Obesity.
diet...lack of omega 3 and Vit. D.
It is a long term progressive and disabling disease if not kept in check with the correct medication. and autoimmune disease.
It causes swelling and inflammation in and around the joints, the eyes, joint deformity and sometimes incorrectly diagnosed as Arthritis.
The patient often experiences unsteadiness in walking, a general feeling of being unwell, loss o mobility, difficulty in getting up when seated, and weakness in hands.
Rheumatoid-Arthritis-wheelchair.jpg

Serious side effects are inflammation of the lungs, heart and blood vesse3ls. Tendon rupture vasculitis that is inflammation of blood vessels resulting in the weakening and thickening of the vessels and scarring.

rheumatoid-arthritis-knee.jpg.
I am on strong chemo medication once a week that has to a certain measure relieved the pain, but will have to have it lifelong.
Coupled with Osteoporose, It is almost a lifelong sentence of swallowing pills having intravenous infusions etc. But I am fortunate to have medical practitioners who take the utmost care with diagnosis and prescriptions.
My advice is get diagnosed early so that you can control yur life.

Sort:  

oh no @ouma-izi I hope you get better.

Thank you so much. I hope so too!