Barnyard carpentry - fixing a busted gate!

in #life2 years ago (edited)


04EBDDB3-9899-4AA5-A2EC-424669B0A749.jpeg

A weekend project - fixing a busted gate

On Saturday, the donk finally tested the integrity of the gate to the upper pasture, with devastating results. The crummy clowns I bought this home/land from had a badly rotting gate and simply painted it over out of laziness. When it broke, it was kind of like breaking through styrofoam.

4BD64BC8-4010-4DE3-8E5D-A074075DD5AE.jpeg

The bad fence after I took it down…


BDBCEC07-D056-4788-B793-FB51EFE728D8.jpeg

Meet Miss Donk

Moody, sullen and stubborn but always classy, my Donk outflanks all the other stupid Donks in these here parts. Whether it’s honking for carrots or wuffling for oats, she wins hoofs-down.

2A180DEB-7688-4C9A-9ED2-AE650BAD074B.jpeg

Assessing the damage

Almost as rotten as a politician! Must be replaced. The cattle panels were a quick fix. Fortunately I already had the lumber for the replacement.

1454C99F-056A-4AED-8962-E211F3EC614E.jpeg

Taking notes and measurements

So much attention to detail. Enough notes to last a lifetime.

C7D63AEE-D722-4249-B826-2DDCE8A4D405.jpeg

Out in the pole barn with lumber and tools!

From a make-pretend artist to a livestock-owning redneck, life is just too crazy... All this effort for an ungrateful Donk.

792B8D3C-7652-4E5E-BEB9-CD1034EC6FC5.jpeg

I now qualify as a mutha-truckin’ cowboy… Or maybe a donkboy.

It’s done! Could use some wood putty, paint and another latch, but I now have a much better path to feed Donks. Climbing under the fence twice a day was getting annoying, especially for a fat boy like myself. I mean seriously, I probably weigh more than the Donk!!!

Sort:  

This is some serious DIY action here!

Especially for an amateur - but I think it's just as good as the pre-rot stage of the original gate... Really time consuming though, I live 25 minutes from town and I had to be very vigilant about ruining good lumber.

Yeah, I see that!

That's one beautiful gate! Nice work Mr. Fix It!! And great to see you posting too :))))

Thanks!!!!!! Although I am horribly unpredictable around here! And busy... maybe instead of illustrating I should post some chickens.

Climbing under the fence twice a day was getting annoying, especially for a fat boy like myself. I mean seriously, I probably weigh more than the Donk!!!

This made me laugh!

They say that people get to look like their donk(ey)s.

Or was it dogs?

P.S. Seems like you're living even more 'country' style than me now.

Surprised you read that far, that's dedication!!

It's been pretty good to be out here, just need some security cameras for random crazy people and some home repairs... Are you also outside the city limits?

Thanks for dropping by as always!

Dedication? Are you kidding me! Reading through my ( wordy ) posts is dedication, although I like to think that they are entertaining ;<)

This write up of yours was full of pictures, that helps too.

I have been living in rural Portugal for over 3 years now. I walk half an hour to the nearest village with a couple of hundred inhabitants. The closest town is a 20 minute car ride away and I am talking about a town with a couple of thousand people. The closest serious city ( over 100k people ) is about 50 miles/ a little over an hour away.

That's actually quite similar, but I lack the village option. Mostly woodlands and farms around here. Plenty of wildlife too of course. Hope you're having a great time in PORTUGAL!

amigo que lindo burro,tiempo que no veia uno y se ve que para tener eso debe dedicar todo su tiempo, eso un gran trabajo, que hermosos esos ambientes, saludos y muchas bendiciones muy agradecida de usted un abrazo desde margarita venezuela

saludos amigo, espero este bien y mucha fe que todo lo lograra, cuidese y agradecida de usted, saludos

I added some extra 5000 to your hive delegation so you can share bigger upvotes than before

saludos amigo, mucha salud y bendiciones, aqui voy sobre la marcha ,nada facil pero ahi voy

Hello thanks for your message

gracias de corazon por su ayuda, que Dios le recompense en salud y años de vida amigo, cuidese mucho y siempre escribame para saber de usted, mire que de la vida de @streestyle, no lo encontre mas que buen amigo tambien,buena persona