STINGING NETTLE TEA WITH A KEURIG?

in #life6 years ago

This has got to be my favorite weed!


While many dismiss is as noxious and invasive, its benefits by far outweigh the downsides, at least in my opinion. I like to use Stinging Nettle as a food, since it is a good source of Vitamin K, Calcium, Manganese and Vitamin A. While it may be easier to enjoy steamed or stir-fried, it can also be eaten raw, which I do when I'm out in the wild. My favorite way to enjoy it, though, is tea. Today, I thought I'd try a new way of preparing it.

NETTLE TEA WITH A KEURIG?

With the little, reusable cups that you can get for this type of coffee maker, I thought this could be a good idea. For maximum health benefits nettle leaves should be steeped for longer than this coffee machine can do, but I was still curious and wanted to try.

I plan on having some patches of my own growing eventually, but for now I have a dried supply awaiting use. I know a few really good places to find Stinging Nettle in the wild, so I always like to harvest a bunch when I get the chance. It dries and stores very well, so it makes it easy on my to keep a large amount on hand to use in teas, soups, stews, and other things.

Packed the little reusable cup full with the dried leaves. Much like when I make a big batch, I'll reuse this same portion a few times, and then eventually discard the leaves into the compost pile. I really enjoy getting the most out of everything that I use!

Sure enough, the little cup of nettle loaded just fine and soon I would know if my experiment was successful. While I've made my own tea bags in the past, trying it this way with the machine was a first.

The first cup of tea, as expected, was not quite as rich as it could have been. The second cup was much better. In both cases the flavor was excellent and I enjoyed them quite thoroughly. At the point of this writing, a few hours later, I am about to enjoy another cup from the same leaves.

A LITTLE MORE ABOUT STINGING NETTLE

This photo is of some Stinging Nettle growing in a ditch. While few people seem to care about this plant, it can be readily available for harvest in many places. Because it is so useful for so many things, some people are even growing it now as a cash crop. Another fun thing to do with this plant is to make cordage from it.

If you are not familiar with this plant, now may be a good time to get familiar with it. Any plant that can produce tea, food, rope, and health benefits is certainly welcome on our homestead!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-it-worked

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

This sounds delicious...

Great informative post!
In India it is called (बिच्छू बूटी) Bichchhu buti in Hindi. It is used in Ayurveda to cure many ailments. It is healpful for asthma patients, kill worms in children and used in burns and many other medicinal properties it has.
Thanks!

I need to definitly give stinging nettle a try sometime ! i might even try to grow some once I get settled next summer on my property ! I cant wait to try a bunch of different things , that are out of the ordinary , like Red Carrots as well , i grew them once and they were really good ! upped ! and will be back to upvote and resteem into my @momskitchen blog !🍵🍵🍵🍵🍵🍵

Never knew there were health benefits to nettles. All I knew about was the itching and burning feeling from walking through a patch of them lol. I know werw tons of these are if it's a cash crop to.

I know where a bunch is on the mountain.

Hi @papa-pepper,

Thanks for the great blog :)

You're welcome @phrase!

Very nice to be doing a post you thank you for sharing a nice post in us

the plant has a lot minerals content, am not familiar with it and i doubt if i can get it in Nigeria. thanks for sharing this information @papa-pepper

I never knew anything about this leaf until I saw your post. I'm trying to browse more about it. The 'stinging' though scares me.

Edited: Just found out it helps urinary health. I'm so gonna cultivate this tea

It is excellent for a lot of things! Enjoy @penauthor!

Very cool!
I dont have a keurig, but Ill have to try making nettle tea sometime. I have heard so much about its benefits. :D

It is excellent!

Never knew about the benefits of this till now . Thanks

I want. it provoked me.

ElinderFirma.gif

It really amazing. It is a good source of Vitamin K, Calcium, Manganese and Vitamin A.

I have a keurig and I'm going to try this with some of my other teas! Thanks for being curious. :)

Interesting that I've not heard of this one. How would you describe the flavor of it? I'm familiar with sassafras and a few other teas.

Oh cool! We love the wild sassafras around here. I'll have to have another cup to try to describe the favor. Hold on...

I also enjoy the many uses of it and tea is my favorite way.
How much collecting do you get done on it?

It depends. A lot more in Wisconsin, and I'm still working through a suppl from up there.

We don't have a keurig, but I have taken to making some infusion teas in the bodum we have. It works great :) I might get one of those stainless cup you have for my daughter though. Thanks :)

Infusion teas are excellent!

There always something i find interesting about your posts @papa-pepper. I think you just a plain and free man, i like your personality...my opinion anyway. I have a question for you...what does the stinging tea do for you in the wild? You made mention of chewing when you are in the wild. Its actually my first time knowing about this, I've never come across it anywhere until now. This post is quite educating and informative. As usual, well done! Thanks for sharing, i was almost perceiving the aroma.

Any stinging feeling after you drank it? or does the heat get rid of that?

Hello, my name steemit account is @iqballangdon, I'm from Aceh-Indonesia, IMG_20170916_210114.jpg I want to sharing picture of Redelong Tea

Sounds good I haven't heard of stinging nettle tea. Glad to see you have a reausable cup for the Keurig. The disposable cups for those machines are filling up landfills with billions of tiny plastic cups every year and the cups didn't even exist 10 years ago.

The only @papa-pepper with too much sauce too much juice on steemit, that is my realest.

It's going to take a lot of gumption for me to try this, because I immediately think of the irritating itchy sting of the weed. My mind is already negative about it.

Nice! I LOVE nettles! I was going to do a post on foraging for them but thought I would wait until closer to spring time. I know very few people who have a dry stash for tea, good on you! The health benefits are extensive like you say and I love the taste. As a kid I would eat them raw as a way to impress friends haha. Roll them up so only the top side of the leave is exposed and much away. One of my fondest memories is harvesting them every spring with my mom and then she would make nettel calzones - Yummy! I feel that their sting gives me a little bit of an energy buzz also. Good stuff @papa-pepper!

Any plant that can produce tea, food, rope, and health benefits is certainly welcome on our homestead!

@papa-pepper. Wow! so much benefits the stinging nettle plant has. I would have just planted it close to my vegetables if it were available here.

The tea looks good from afar! Cheers sir!

I thought you were going to teach us how to put weed in a Keurig to get high and I got really excited. This was still great blog. How does this compare to green tea?

The taste is different. Many have referred to Nettle Tea as having a "vitamin pill in your energy drink," so I like that it benefits the body while giving me a "pick-me-up."

I remember when growing up, having adults tell me that they were a noxious weed and to not go near them. I also remember running into a patch wearing shorts. I recall even to this day, why they are called stinging nettles!

I grew up being "stung" all the time! Now, I know how to use the plant properly.

That's very interesting...

hi @papa-pepper i also love making my own tea. actually im the one to make it. i have 4 tree moringa in my backyard.since i cant use it it all. i decided to make a tea so that it can be preserved..
)

I looooove nettles. I think they both powerful and magic. Was curious to see how the kurig worked for herbal tea as i usually like to let mine steep for a bit. Sounds like it turned out great. Thanks for putting nettle out there. It's truly a hidden gem with a bad rap.

Hey man!! Much respect for featuring such an awesome plant! We have a slightly different strain here in Trinidad. Just recently my brother cooked some he found growing wild in our yard and it was excellent! I shall try these other methods of consumption you speak of......hopefully soon lol!
Bless!

Hello @ papa-pimienta, thank you very much for sharing, this plant is an excellent anti inflammatory that offers properties for the recovery of physical and mental fatigue, has properties against anemia due to its high content of iron and vitamin C, nettle is a plant with a very high value in the natural medicinal benefit.

Cool blog, man! You are very resourceful.

Is it a caffeinated and energetic kind of tea or a mellow relaxer?

funny! I am having my morning cup of nettle tea while reading this. I dont have a khurig though.LOL

The first time I heard of stinging nettle was a few months ago and after a little research I am going to try to grow some this season!

We grow so much of this, but we haven't tried to yet...we should! I've decided your blog was the final push! Haha...I will harvest some and make it into tea!

Wow, I wanted to start a vegetable garden this year. I have a huge garden full of stinging nettles and I wanted to throw them all on the compost pile immediately. Now i'm first gonna try this tea and see if i like it. Thanks for this very useful post!

never heard about it)
I like food and drinks that bring use to health, I must Google it)
thanks for info)

Gotta bring the foraging into the modern era, lol! It's going to be the season for nettles pretty soon! In the meantime, you've got a great stash of dried nettles. So many wild plants and garden plants make for great tea! Drying them is a great way to not ever have to buy herbal tea. Enjoy your tea!

Resteemed by @foraging-trail. By following @foraging-trail, you will see resteemed posts about foraging that have been reviewed for originality and accuracy by the curator, @haphazard-hstead.

The @foraging-trail is re-starting after being dormant. An updated community document will be posted soon. Until then, you can find older information about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here. Please feel free to put your foraging post links on the SteemTrail Discord server, in the Foraging-Trail channel.

Awesome!

Sweet video on cordage making! The nettles necklace that lasted for 6 months being worn in all conditions, did it have a pendant or anything on it during that time or was it just the cordage? Thanks! And, have you experimented with using any other natural fibers to make cordage for necklaces? Thanks!