Chapter 1: Meeting Virginie

in #life6 years ago

I started this blog in June and to most, it’s unknown why I started it. Well, today I am finally going to tell you the reasoning behind my newfound inspiration. While writing my blog I left cryptic hints of something that was happening in my life. I kept mentioning October 2nd throughout my entire 100 days of blogging. In my 27th blog post, I mentioned that I made one of the most life-changing purchases to date. You will finally learn what that purchase was and why October 2nd was so important. Here we go!

This story starts way back on July 31st, 2016. I meant a stranger on a chat forum I regularly read but I rarely ever post on. On that night, I was bored and wanted someone to chat with about music or some other benign topic. Little did I know, this stranger would go on to change my life and flip my world completely upside down.

Most strangers I talk too usually go forgotten within a couple of days but this one was intriguing in so many different ways. We would send lengthy letter-like messages back and forth, talking about everything under the sky. This proceeded on for just over a month before we finally decided to exchange numbers. Once we had each other’s numbers the conversations would only come to an end when our eyes forced us to sleep. When we weren’t texting it would feel like time came to a stop. It was torture waiting for replies but it never lasted too long.

Finally, after two months of texting, I started to realize I was developing feelings for this person. I must admit, this felt very foreign to me because I always thought of myself as being single forever, given my situation. One night after returning home from a concert, I mustered up the courage to tell this person how I truly felt. I told someone who was not family that I loved them for the first time.

She told me that she also had feelings for me but she was not ready to use the L word yet. I was not discouraged because love is an exceptionally powerful word and shouldn’t be used lightly. We kept our conversations going but they were definitely a bit more personal from this point forward. The type of stuff you keep behind lock and key (not naughty stuff, you pervs).

One morning she was leaving for her parent’s house and we exchanged our farewells as usual but the last text she sent said: “I love you”. The feeling in that moment was unlike anything I have ever experienced. It was like a volcano erupted in my chest and the smoke was making me light-headed. She said I love you! I honestly read that text one-hundred times over because I could not believe it. I can safely say this was one of the greatest moments of my life but there were definitely more of those moments to come.

After we established that we were officially dating, we needed to figure out how to meet up in person. There was no way I was going to fly her to Arizona in the Summer and the Spring was to close at this point, so we decided on her flying to Arizona on October 2nd, 2017. Nearly a year away but it was good because we needed to save every penny possible.

Fast forward to February 8th, 2017 (my birthday!), a ticket from Lyon, France to Phoenix, AZ went on sale for ridiculously cheap. There was one small problem though, we were short a few hundred dollars. At the time, I had to pay off a recent ticket with the portion of the funds I was saving up. I was completely devastated because flying out of France isn’t cheap and this ticket was over 50% off the regular price. We both stayed positive and told ourselves another opportunity would come along. Deep down inside I knew that was very unlikely.

Later that day I was talking to my very good friend Willie about the ticket price and the situation we were in. A few months earlier he offered to buy the ticket for us but it did not feel right taking that amount of money from a friend. There was no way I could have paid him back in a timely manner. During our conversation, he offered once again to purchase the ticket for us. I honestly didn’t know what to say but Willie made it easy by only taking “yes” for an answer. That day Willie had given me the greatest birthday gift ever! He gave me the opportunity to meet the love of my life and I am forever grateful for that.

With ticket in hand, all we had to do now was countdown the days until we finally got to kiss. During this waiting period, we liked to talk about what the future might have in store for us. Where would we live? The U.S. or Europe? Initially, we agreed upon Europe but given my situation, it just was not plausible. How many pets? Children? We both don’t ever want children so that worked out great. Then we brought up marriage because that would be the only way we could live together. By this time, I knew this woman was my dream girl. I had never experienced this much chemistry before and I didn’t want to let it go. She was my lost treasure and I wasn’t about to lose it.

On June 27th, 2017 I made one of the biggest purchases of my life, I put a down-payment on a gorgeous Ruby and Diamond engagement ring. I chose a Ruby because we met in July and I knew she was not a big fan of Diamonds. I didn’t keep the fact that I wanted to propose to her secret because of our unique situation. However, I did keep the ring secret and how/when I would pop the question. We agreed it would be best for us to spend some time together in person to see if we continued to click before I purpose. I didn’t have a doubt in my mind that she was the one but it’s better to be safe than sorry

IMG_0018.JPG

Now that you are caught up with what has happened the past year, I suppose you probably want to know the name of this mystery woman. I would like to introduce you to the most beautiful lady my eyes have ever seen, VIRGINIE! Virginie is the lady who I can never stop thinking about and I love it!

Chapter two will be released next Saturday.

Sort:  

thanks for sharing your wonderful love story my friend! here's to a great future for the both of you! keep on loving! :)