Black Friday Delivery #2

in #life6 years ago

Ignore the ugly couch. It's as uncomfortable as it is ugly. I think Martin's parents put it in the formal living room and used it for unwelcome visitors!

Today @zoee got lucky. We didn't have the regular FedEx driver and this one likes dogs! She even gave @zoee a dog biscuit. I swear the dog is going to be spoiled rotten. She already waits for the mail man and barks to let me know when he's here so she can run out and get her treat.

Yesterday I got the i7-7800X & 500GB SSD drive. Today was another round of goodies. I got the PSU for free and I opted for the cheap Liquid Cooler to stay in budget. I'll upgrade them later. I thought getting 32GB (2x16GB) now was a better investment than replacing 16GB (2x8GB) later. I intend to add another 32GB in the next 6 months then another 32GB within another 6 months after that if I need it.

Now I'm just waiting impatiently for the case to arrive tomorrow. I'm so tempted to get out a cardboard box and a couple of 1x2's and put it together on my desk just to load up the OS. But then again I'd have to pick an OS. I still haven't figured out if I want to run Linux with Windows 10 in VM or run Windows 10 with linux in VM.

DOH!!! I forgot to buy a video card. Darn it. Looks like I'll have to pull my old 1GB 5770 out. 8 years old and still works great even after 2 years of mining.

My miner got a few upgrades a while back and I haven't posted any images, thought I'd share a couple.

Old Setup

New Setup

I refer to it as my 6GPU heater. It not only keeps my office & living room warm it pays the electric, gas & water bill usually.

Witness Voting

You can vote for my witness here.

Wittnesses I vote for and support:


Image by @atopy


Current Projects: @steemcleaners 🙣 @spaminator


Sort:  

I didn't even knew you were mining. I use to be mining but I sold a card, burn one, and the 2 I got left both have a broken fan so I stopped.

I’m still chuckling about the coach, but I think your new set up is pretty bad a$$ too.

awesome @patrice , that very important for mining :D

Sweet!

BTW old video cards rock!

Almost a mini data center except you need a more professional looking rack haha.

Ahh well.. One of these days when steem gets to $10 I'll buy one! I'm actually thinking of adding hard drives to mind BURST again. Then it really will look like a data center with stacks of drives.

I LOVE the couch!!!! Are you kidding??? Old school yellowish flowers, my favorite!!! :D
I don't understand what's on the couch. pretending to understand set ups SO COOL :P
Voted a long time ago ;)

If you lived in the US I would be asking for an address to deliver the couch to. I'd love for it to go to someone that would appreciate it. I think his parents bought it in the late 70's.

you are mining zcash / zcoin ? Its an impressive setup that you have got!

Right now I don't have time to monitor it too much. I'm using nicehash but looking to change that soon.

I’ve been checking out CURE coin... it’s quite interesting as the computing Power is used for medical research

Now it makes sense, I love 60-70s decor/design (and 80s music but oh well :P ) How much do you think it would cost to send it here? We have nothing to lose by asking right? I just wonder. I really like it and soon moving to a new place :D [so I NEED the old couch hahahaha!]

Nice rig ;-) what coin you mining?

I'm using nicehash right now so it auto switches. I'd like to mine some newer coins just to hold but research takes time.

Nice ;-) You can also check http://whattomine.com/ and see which one is most profitable for you depends on your GPU ;-) Good luck!