One Bad Day Doesn't Make a Life

in #life8 years ago

How happy I am driving for Uber and Lyft!
But it took the last year to learn how to make the money I need from it.

Overall last week and specially since my slight emotional breakdown last Thursday, I really became conscious of all the reasons I love and enjoy driving for Uber and Lyft. In this process of appraisal for my driving for Uber and Lyft, I found that I was really enjoying my time out in Boston.

Even though I do wish to be home playing my guitar, giving lessons and getting paid for it, I also have to say that I do enjoy getting outside and seeing the beautiful landscape of the Boston area.

Not that I can really stop to sit and enjoy the fullness of any particular Vista because I need to continue driving to find a new ride to make money and I need to also pay attention to the road when driving but for the times that I am able to glance at the trees and see the sunshine over the Charles River, for example, my heart is glad.

It took me the last year to learn how to make this a paying proposition. That's not to say that it's a high paying venture and certainly not any better pay than I was receiving when I was working in my corporate job last year. However I do feel the need to weigh in on the emotional aspects of working this kind of gig versus the corporate gig. Basically it beats sitting at a desk all day and I get to meet interesting people, mostly really smart people because after all they're working in the Boston area. If you don't know what that means let me know and I'll explain it more. Right, I get to drink coffee, drive, see historic buildings from the 1700s all lit up at night and listen to my favorite music. And I get paid enough to pay my bills. So that's not a bad gig!

I also learned a lot about what impresses the customer i.e. providing Cold bottles of water, mints, and gum. Asking each rider if they have a preferred route to take to their destination and letting them know I'm using the Waze app for navigation and letting them know I have an aux chord if they want to play their own music on their smart phones. These small things make a big difference to the ratings and reviews I receive and I plan to use these lessons I've learned about focusing on what the customer may want and ways to communicate to them so they feel cared for in my future business endeavors.

Yep, overall I have a lot to be thankful.

Sort:  

I'd love to be serviced by you. Keep it going man!
Also, how is the schedule having to transition between two cars?

Thank you ohmibod.
I only have one car.