You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Be A Fool, Drop Out Of School! Advice To Young People On How To Live The Good Life

in #life7 years ago

Thanks for the comment Finnian and I totally agree with you. I'm glad that the IT certifications that you needed did not require a degree. My profession is not like that. You have to have the degree in hand before you can even take the boards and obtain the necessary certifications. I think it is total BS that you need the degree if you are able to pass the boards without it but it is a reality for my profession and too many others. College was a magical and transformative experience for me. To tell our young potential doctors, veterinarians, and engineers to drop out or consider not going at all just seems wrong to me. However, I did learn about the book, "The Creature from Jekyll Island" by G. Edward Griffin from Jeff Berwick's youtube channel, "The Dollar Vigilante" and not from college. I also learned about Steemit from him as well. I am very grateful to Jeff for all that he has taught me but I do disagree with him on this most recent article.

Sort:  

Once a person can read, they can teach themselves most things. Tutoring, apprenticeships, and other options are also available. Heck, here in Virginia, they have a "Law Reader" program to skip law school even. You just study under a current lawyer to avoid the huge expense.

Very true. Wow, I can't believe that about Virginia! Bar exam, here I come. :-)

I considered doing it. Once I became a PI some fellow PI's recommended I do it even. It isn't my passion though. Residential security is.