Sleeping Soundly: Sleep Your Way Into A Better Life

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Sleeping is underrated.

Imagine a world where everyone is sleeping the optimal amount. The world would be a happier place. Less mood swings. Less hostility. More positivity. Wouldn’t that be nice?

In a world where technology is growing immensely, it’s easy to forgo sleep. The Western culture seems to promote the lack of sleep. I’ve actually heard someone say, “Work harder, sleep less. Success is only happens to those who work the hard. Sleep is for the weak!” Some people even say that they can “sleep when they’re dead,” which is ironic because the lack of sleep will propel you towards death faster. It’s hogwash. Is it worth it to lose your health for the success you are trying to build? It doesn't matter if you reach your success, and you have no health to enjoy your success. Your health is most important!

We are convinced that sleep is a waste of valuable time and continue to chase these fantasies far into the night. —Alan Watts

Think back on the days where you got good sleep and the days where you slept very little. Was there a difference in your energy? Your mood? Your thoughts? I’m willing to bet that there’s a large difference!

Some people aren’t even aware of their sleep debt. Their normal is an all time low. In this case, ignorance is not bliss. This lack of quality sleep leads to more problems. The less you sleep, the more problems you’ll face in the future. In fact, according to some scholarly journals, many mental illnesses are due to sleep deprivation.

If you still think your body doesn’t need as much sleep, you’re in for a surprise. There are many studies where sleep deprivation affects cognitive abilities. It was even found that sleep deprivation could mirror what the drunk exhibit: lack of awareness, decrease in motor skills, and cognitive impairment. In other words, when you don’t sleep, it's possible you act like a drunk. Personally, I don’t like the idea of seeming drunk when I’m actually sober.

Why Sleep Better?

We get ready for a date. We get ready to party with friends. We get ready for work. Who gets ready for bed anymore?

I wasn’t a sleeper for most of my life. I used to stay up till 2-3 am everyday, emulating the habits of some friends and family. I thought exercise and diet was all it takes for a healthy lifestyle, exercising 3-4 per week and following a Keto diet (low carb, high fat with minimal processed foods). For a good chunk of my life, I went through life feeling groggy at times, not really thinking or knowing why. Clearly, I was missing something. All along, the answer was right under my nose—the bed. Looking back, the solution was obvious and a no-brainer. However, in the moment, it was hard to see—it took time for me to realize how important sleep is. Sleep was missing from my equation of a healthy life!

Sleeping better is in our best interest. You have nothing to lose by investing in better sleep.

It has a plethora of benefits including:

-fat loss
-renewed energy
-better memory
-better mood
-improved cognitive abilities
-and many more

The video below explains the process and benefits of sleep quite well.

“You could even say that proper sleep will have you waking up every morning with a new and improved brain ready to face the challenges ahead.”

With so many benefits, why wouldn’t you want to sleep better? Better sleep literally improves your life in more ways than you can imagine.

Now, all this talk about sleep has gotten me sleepy...
Let’s jump to the good part. The practical tips on improving your sleep.

How to sleep better

After researching the topic, I have compiled the most effective sleeping tips that work well for me. I hope you can at least take-away one of these tips:

A) Get some sunlight in the morning. Your body has a circadian rhythm; it is affected by certain environmental cues. When the sunlight hits your skin, your body knows it’s time to wake up. Get some sunlight in the morning, it really helps!

B) Keep your room dark. You get better quality sleep in a dark room. The darkness signals the body that it’s time to sleep. Humans are not meant to be nocturnal creatures. If we were nocturnal creatures, why don’t we have night vision and live with all the other night animals in a dark, damp forest?

C) Avoid blue light 1-2 hours before you sleep. Cell phones, television, computer screens and anything with a screen that shines bright light on you will keep your body awake. Try replacing the habit of going to the screen with other activities. Here are some ideas: reading, talking with your SO (significant other), taking a walk, reflecting how your day went.

D) Take a warm bath an hour before sleeping. A warm bath sets you up for success. The warm bath causes the body to relax and cool down just before going to bed. I sleep like a baby.

E) Set up an evening routine. The body loves to make a habit of things. Have some sort of cue that lets the body know it’s time to sleep. This will make the body drift to sleep easier. For me, my routine is to head into bed an hour early and to read until I get sleepy. It works effectively.

F) Keep the room cool. The suggested room temperature for ideal sleep is between 60 - 67 degrees Fahrenheit. Many research studies prove that the body sleeps better in a cooler room. I can attest to this. I fall asleep faster and better whenever my room is cooler. When the room is warmer, I have more trouble sleeping.

G) Start sleeping between 10 pm and 2 am: that’s when you get optimal sleep. If you want to get technical, Melatonin, HGH (Human Growth Hormone), and more are secreted most during those times. Shawn Stevenson of the Model Health Show podcast calls this the Money Time of sleep.

H) Exercise. I noticed that my sleep is better when I exercise. After a good workout, the body is more tired and demands sleep for repairs. A little exercise certainly helps!

I) Aim to sleep around 7-8 hours of sleep. Research shows that the sweet spot is between 7-8 hours of sleep. Experiment to see how many hours you need. For me, I need 8 hours. Any more, any less, I notice some difference.

I hope these tips are useful for you!

I'm curious Steemers,

How important is sleep to you? How many hours do you sleep a day? Any sleeping tips you can add?


*yawn

Well...I think it's time to sleep. All this talk about sleep made me sleepy. Happy sleeping Steemit!