Are you proud of where you are and the choices made??

in #life7 years ago

1st.jpg

Whenever someone asks me for advice in terms of what their next step is, I remind them that they are living the consequences of today which are the result of yesterdays decisions.

Ok so this might not make sense straight away, so let me explain.

Every action has an equal reaction, whether it's a physical, mental or emotional reaction. We need to keep that in mind as you don't always take this into account when making a critical decision in the here and now. I have done a personal case study whereas I made the decision on impulse and then a few months later I made the same decision based on calculated risk. My decision was based on my financial situation and I realized that although the decision based on impulse seemed like the best course of action, it was very short lived and I found myself to be in the worst position down the line. The decision that I made a few months later around the same scenario BUT from a calculated risk perspective, didn't seem cunning at first, but it paid off, in the end, leaving me in a completely different situation than before. This made me realize that there are some fundamental points to remember when making an important decision, whether it's personal or business.

1)Have I made a logic / unemotional decision here??

2nd.jpg

Many of us act out of emotion which is perfectly normal. The challenge here is the fact that most of the times if you make an important decision out of emotion, you will probably regret it afterward. The most important decisions that I have ever succeeded in, were the ones that I removed my emotions from the situation and thought logically about it. I'm not referring to your love life as you have to think with both your heart and brain, that said you might have to make a decision based on what makes the most sense to you in that situation, but each to their own ;)

2)Do I have enough knowledge to make an informed decision or are you just winging it - VERY DANGEROUS

3rd.jpg

The worst decisions have always been made out of ignorance. You receive a phone call from a Tele marketer, with the best news since sliced bread. You realize that you just can't give up this offer and then a few months later realize, wait no I just can't seem to maintain my budget, what went wrong down the line. Well because you made that decision on the phone, without being properly informed, you killed your entire budget based on ignorance. If you rather took some time to analyze the situation, ask the right questions and be well informed...well then you wouldn't be in this situation in the first place.

3)Take time to reflect on your past mistakes & challenges

4th.png

I was running around the other and was so frustrated as I didn't have a new phone, fast car nor an awesome house to go home to every day. This made me frustrated and a little despondent, since I have worked my @ss off, but haven't really achieved everything in life. I sat at home that evening, with a glass of my favorite liquor in my hand, looking up at the sky I realized something that may have changed how I look at my current situation. I thought back to my young self, how I started fresh out of college, ready to grab life head on, not sure where I am going to end up. I remember starting off with nothing, working 20 hours a day to make someone else rich, sometimes I didn't even sleep whilst working on a project BUT I pushed through it all. I realized that ten years later, I can actually be proud of what I have achieved and I am proud to experience today's consequences as a result of yesterdays decisions made.

My challenge for you this week - I double dare you to take this challenge ;)

5th.jpg

Sit in a quiet place for at least thirty minutes to an hour and reflect back on a decision or challenge that you have faced when you were younger. Think about how this affected your life for the better (no depressing thoughts here) and think about in what fortunate position you are right now through the decisions made or challenges overcome. This could either be the struggle of starting your own business, getting out of an abusive relationship, pushing through your studies regardless of how challenging it was and realize that it was all worth it in the end.

IF you haven't made that decision yet, well now is a fantastic time to start. Whenever you make your next decision, think about what the future you would've thought about you now...The next song by Taylor Hicks named "Do I make you Proud" summarizes exactly how you should make your next decision. Whilst listening to this song, pretend that you are singing or talking to your young self....or if you are young pretend that you are singing or talking to your older self in terms of the decisions that you are about to make.

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif