Relaxation for your body and mind when you've had a hectic day...

in #life7 years ago

bigstock-stress-reduction-concept--rel-81234536.jpg

Do you have a stressful day and you are extra frustrated because you don't know how to "switch off"

I have been in, probably one of the most stressful careers my entire life which is IT, Technology & Customer Support. Yes, I know that there are a lot of people that can do this and be super chilled at the same time, but unfortunately, due to the kind of person that I am, I will stress about the little things that just will not go my way or get resolved quick enough. I often suffer from a lack of sleep due to my projects as well as being over stressed and couldn't find an easy way of getting a great, well deserved nights rest.

I found that if I follow the below-mentioned routine at night, I will sleep like a baby - no, I don't mean waking up every three hours, crying for milk LOL...the best and probably one of the only ways of knowing you slept well, is by waking up the next morning feeling refreshed.

MY STRESS HELPING ROUTINE

I normally find myself in work environments where I have to be ready and available 24/7, BUT I promised to both myself and my family that I will find a way to relax and spend time with them and thus I have worked out the following schedule that has worked not only for my own well-being but for my relationship with my awesome wife!! At the end of the day, it's your loved ones closest to you, such as your life partner that often help you pick up the pieces after you have fallen apart.

08:00 - 17:00 (Work as usual)
18:00 - 19:00 (Supper with Family)
20:00 - 22:00 (Catch up on work, whilst children have been put to bed)

22:00 - 23:00 (Relax time by myself or with my wife)

I realized that the best way of relaxing just before bed is with a nice hot, steamy bath with some miracle potions in it...

bubble-bath.jpg
warm, awesome & relaxing bath

"Miracle Potions" added to Bath - Don't worry it's 100% natural and awesome, nothing funny going on here ;)

Setting the mood is very important!!

  1. Scented or Unscented Candle is an absolute must have! Don't use normal bathroom lights, you need that ambiance.
  2. Favorite music, I love Mozart or Beethoven music, something without words to make you relax.
  3. Add a few drops of Oils that uses the hot bath water to soak into your tense muscles.

ea9904af08abd0a140892384cfff7e2f.jpg

Using the best Natural Oils are the key to relaxing, this will soak into your muscles and calm you down

318Z69hrPEL.jpg
Eucalyptus Oil

index.jpeg
Lavender Oil

Why are these oils so awesome and what does it help with

Mental exhaustion: One very important reason that many people use eucalyptus oil is that it creates a cooling and refreshing effect. Normally, people suffering from certain conditions and disorders are slightly sluggish. Eucalyptus oil, a stimulant, removes exhaustion and mental sluggishness and rejuvenates the spirits of the sick. It can also be effective in the treatment of stress and mental disorders.

Apart from mental exhaustion, eucalyptus essential oil is commonly used to stimulate mental activity and increase blood flow to the brain. Since the essential oil is considered a vasodilator by many, it means that it increases the blood flow around the body by relaxing the blood vessels and allowing more blood to circulate. Basically, more blood to the brain means more brain power, and eucalyptus essential oil is commonly employed in classrooms as a form of causal aromatherapy to increase student performances. Further formal research must be done in this area, but all signs point to the positive correlation between brain function and eucalyptus essential oil.

Muscle pain: If you are experiencing joint and muscle pain, massaging eucalyptus oil on the surface of the skin helps to relieve stress and pain. The volatile eucalyptus oil is analgesic and anti-inflammatory in nature. Therefore it is often recommended to patients suffering from rheumatism, lumbago, sprained ligaments and tendons, stiff muscles, aches, fibrosis and even nerve pain. The oil should be massaged in a circular motion on the affected areas of the body.

This is perfect to use as a stress relieve routine for either "me time" or to have some quality time with your life partner.

I will start a series where you can have both a stressful lifestyle and an awesome relationship all in one, at the end of the day it's about life, love, happiness, and quality thereof.

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sort:  

Nice post...thanks for sharing

Hey well done fellow South African for winning the @minnowbooster meme competition! I used to like in Durban North myself :) We will arrange to delegate the 300 SP to you soon.

Hey @thecryptodrive that is awesome and I am looking forward to the 300 delegated SP :) I really enjoy Durban North, but I feel that my knowledge, passion and skills could be best used elsewhere such as US, Europe etc. unfortunately I haven't had the opportunity yet, hopefully this will come soon enough.

What skills u got? :) Also check your wallet you have +300 SP.

lol, well I don't generally like "blowing my own horn" but I have the ability to pick up any skill and master it. For example I started at an ISP last year, without being involved in that industry before, and now I am head of infrastructure and pointing out issues that guys haven't seen before and they have been around for 5 - 10 years. I am currently working with a developer - also a homegrown durbanite, that has a passion for security and thus has developed a bullet proof way of replacing the username/password system completely whilst stopping phishing in it's track as well.

Please read my article that I did a while back if you are interested:

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@philip.willemse/revolutionary-way-of-killing-the-username-password

We have quite a few people interested at the moment, but wouldn't hurt to get it in via another trusted source, such as yourself. We haven't got anyone signed up with exclusivity yet, so chat to me if you would like to know more or the opportunities that you can get involved in :)

Thanks @thecryptodrive , chat soon!

This post was upvoted by 15% from Operation Support sponsored with Whaleshares and BeyondBit !

nice, thanks for sharing!

thanks for sharing good travel memories:) love all the pics and words !:) @philip.willemse