You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ass Kissing Brownnosers Are Useless

in #life3 years ago

Text to speech engines are awesome.

Also the root of the next evolution of the personal computer.

The next step would be no monitor, and would require a text to speech engine and headphones that had outward facing speakers and access to a hologram.

The screen is only needed for video & photo, the interaction we do on these screens is kinda slow and caveman like to my vision of an advanced technology.

Sort:  

Interesting that you say so as I have often felt that text to speech is the way to go ( also for my own writing ) and I’m about to get myself a Raspberry Pi 400 which is practically a computer inside a keyboard. Will still need some kind of external monitor for it though, as I plan to use this machine for ( retro ) gaming and some browsing too.

Instead of a home server, using about 2000 Watts, you could probably use multiple raspberri pis for different smart features around your home. USB peripherals make it easy to attach devices, and just a PoE internet switch would be needed to completely secure your home, also easier to hide a bunch of pis than a larger server blade with easy to access hard drives.

A PoE internet switch is like 200-400 watts, and then 40 watts per pi, so if you do the math you could have a lot more features with less Wattage using pis.

Thanks for the info and suggestions but that‘s all a little over my head ( tech wise ). I am mainly thinking of using it for ( retro ) gaming, some surfing, writing books and blogs and probably to learn some programming. I am tired of Windows and want to reward myself with the geeky kind of gadget that I never had ( even though I grew up in a middle class family in the 80s / 90s ). I never owned a gameboy, a console or even a walkman.

I feel the Raspberry Pi 400 is a good start to re-awkaken the geek / little kid inside of me :<)

Lol a home security system is like Parkman plus a camera and laser sensors. It's easier than you think, and if you ever compare the price to professional installation you will laugh.

No need for a home security system here. In fact, I need to find myself a home first. My house is for sale and I‘m house sitting. Hope to rent another place soon.

Is your house in Texas and would you take crypto as a down-payment?

Might be worth a private message thread If so.

Haha, I‘m in Portugal and yes I would accept crypto