Knitting: Making awesome stuff and reaping the benefits :)

in #life6 years ago

For someone like me who always over thinks it is a great way of quietening down the mind. I really do find knitting very calming. I am turning to creative sources to try relax and unwind..

I recently bought a canvas to start a painting, I am writing and I have half a knitted blanket that I need to finish. In a world filled with electronics I often find I get so distracted from creating and become a bit lazy.
(Atleast when I have knitting needles in my hand I wont be able to pick up my phone 🤣 )

There are loads of benefits that go along with knitting...

For me, knitting reduces stress and anxiety but it is also said to improve memory, give a sense of accomplishment, it helps reduce blood pressure, it helps prevent arthritis and even improves self-esteem. My mother is an avid knitter, she has always sworn by its therapeutic properties :)

I knitted this beanie quite a while ago but I stumbled across the pattern while I was looking for some wool this afternoon, so I thought I should share just how well it came out.

I found the pattern online, if anyone is keen to give it a go... its super easy and doesnt take that long to make.
The pattern ranges from babies to adults.. how cute would a baby look with a little bear beanie on!! 💕

I did my beanie in this light blue because of my complexion, I took this photo just after I finished it to see what it looked like on and I must say I loved it.

11752349_10153122812742844_2483330854832166301_n.jpg

Underneath is the link to where I found the pattern :)

The pattern is by Jennifer Dickerson
http://www.fiberfluxblog.com/2012/02/you-asked-for-it.html

Sort:  

This is so cute! I used to knit with my great grandma all the time. She taught me some basic skills. This was a very long time ago! I have always wanted to get back into knitting but I still have yet to start. Winter is a great time for it too, maybe I will try to knit something this year. Thanks for sharing!

I'm glad you like it @poppiejanes. I used YouTube and the help of my mother when I started. YouTube was great :)