You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My How To Go Vegan Guide For Dummies

in #life6 years ago

I think the post it's really well written and I like that it includes also the references to documentaries, books, instagram accounts etc. I find this very helpful! Only one more thing I think needs mentioning, vitamin B12 which is very important for neurological function and it's found only in animal products (or some fortified breakfast cereals, nutritional yeast etc.).

Sort:  

I did not mention supplements as i dont personally take any except for B12 every other week. Perhaps i can do a solid post on that alone another time. As you know its been shown even meat eaters are highly deficient in B12 as well but for some reason everybody is concerned bout our protein and B12 soon as we go vegan right? haha. Thanks !

I have believed for a long time that we don't need as much protein as we Americans eat, and definitely don't need it from animals. Protein is protein. However, as I see you mentioned above, you do supplement with B12 every other week. That is good. I also think, from research, not out of thin air, that we DO need saturated fat. It doesn't have to come from animals, but that is indeed the easiest and most abundant source for getting it. Thoughts?

well said! give this a watch starts around 5 mins or so. its not worth the risk consuming animal products just to get sat fat, that comes with cholesterol and a whole bag of disease. plenty of plant sources for fat such as nuts & seeds, nut butters avocados, extremely easy to get them in! eating a wide variety of plant based foods we will get everything we need from whole plant foods.

Yep! The key is a wide variety of plant-based foods. Thanks for all your comments. I’m going to watch the video below, now