Journey from Engineer to Social Engineer

in #life5 years ago

I can still visualize the days I prepared to be eligible for an engineering entrance exam. As it turns out, life doesn’t turn out the way we want it to. It’s full of twists and turns and compromises but also achievements and opportunities.

My journey began for an engineering entrance exam and turned me into a social engineer. I had ups and downs and doubts in choosing the right path. There were voices constantly criticizing my choice of studying business studies. The choice they constantly criticized was not easy to make. I had been a graduate of science with a good mark-sheet and could have easily dreamt of becoming an engineer or working in some other technical field. Before i made the choice , I was working day and night to get through the entrance exams so I could apply for IOE. Nights along with the books and a mug of coffee days were passing by. But,as it turns out life isn’t always as we want it to be. One night, one moment and one phone call changed my life, my decision, my priorities and my career….

I was reading in my room when the phone rang and the nightmare began. It was terrifying and devastating. Several things ran through my head and I began praying”OM NAMA SHIVAYA” as I could do nothing else. The phone call was from one of my relatives telling me that my father met an accident, he’d been hit by a motorbike. Before I could hear more, the phone fell off my hands I was numb…. I was pulverized and burst into tears. I watched my mom fighting against the pain so hard and looking away. Maybe she didn’t want her daughter to see what my father was going through and wanted to keep me at ease as much as possible. And then there was my dad who has always been my role model, my savior. He was the strongest man trying to manage a soft and comforting voice and tell me everything would be alright. I understood how hard must have been for him to console me because I had never heard him speak in such a low voice. I wondered why god had become so cruel all of a sudden. I was always a god’s child.. worshiping, going to temples was my daily routine. I cried a lot and expected god to show mercy on us.

As soon as my father was in recovery i researched about the colleges that were still taking the admissions.

I managed to find a college and joined BBA. I didn’t know what was I getting into but I had no other alternative. BBA or an engineering degree, either way, my plan was to serve. I went through the worst and rose from it, appreciating people and relationships and learning how to balance the good with the bad and came out strong. At present, I am pursuing MBA focusing on social entrepreneurship. Understanding the global business scenario, sustainable goals and need of youth to engage on business addressing social problem, I am much motivated to serve the society.

The important lesson I have learned it “IT IS NOT ABOUT THE SUBJECT YOU CHOOSE BUT ABOUT WHO YOU CHOOSE TO BECOME”

Sort:  

Congratulations @prativa11! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

So sad to hear about accident
I hope he is better now
BBA ni dami nai ho ni j padheni
Master garirako hoina tmi😀

Yes, my dad is completely recovered now. Yeah, just completed BBA and now doing MBA😊Thank you for your wishes😊

Welcome😉😊
Dherai padhnu hunna re haha😁😜