How impossible it is not to worry about what others think of you?

in #life6 years ago

You've presumably bumped into the conventional, 'Don't care what others think' quote. To me, this is easier said than done.

image

I'm almost sure there exists people who don't give a hoot about your opinion of them. On the other side of the universe exist those like me who even after telling themselves, "It's my life. Their opinions really don't matter" go right ahead getting disturbed for days, weeks, months about whether people think they're stingy after giving a "Sorry, I don't have much on me" response to people's "Can I borrow some money?" request.

We have the right to have opinions of others. I've had too many times, I still do, and will still do. I've also been wrong about some people, and will probably be wrong about many more. In this same manner, will some people be wrong about me.

image

However, I seem to forget that this is something I have little or no control over. People will always have opinions about others, even from as itty-bitty a clue as our looks. It's going to be good sometimes, and other times, it wouldn't. It's their opinion afterall. What just matters is that you're who you are, and not going out of your way to please the unpleaseable world.

But even after having this knowledge, just like Twenty-one pilots sang in Stressed Out, "...I care what people think."

Yeah, I do.

Thanks for reading!

Images sourced from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!