Do You Care About Education?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The only attribute setting humans significantly apart from the infinite other animals crawling around the Earth is an ability to pass on information. Other animals can empathize, dance, learn, sing, but cannot quench a strong thirst for knowledge the way a human can. As a result of education through verbal and written communication, one can learn from the discoveries of all the generations before them. If the world had not presented me with an opportunity to attend a breeding ground of knowledge five days a week, I do not know where my desire to become less ignorant would fester. A college education was not always possible in the past, but now many opportunities do not give you an option but to pursue one. In reality, even jobs that do not require a college education are jobs that could be more effectively done with one. As displayed by the impact of our increase in college enrollment: A big idea is that while this country can still function without every person being college educated, a college educated public creates a more innovative and accepting country.

image.jpeg

My education has empowered me to realize the importance of being open-minded and questioning everything presented to me. Attending an institution for higher education is what allows the best physicians, teachers, and engineers to complete his or her job at a certain standard. Also, I find that those who choose to pursue a college education create for themselves an understanding of people’s diverse perspectives instead of remaining static with one.

My parents moved from Nepal to America and carried with them Hindu culture, which created the perspective I was raised with. Education opened my eyes to learning about my culture and myself, while also questioning the practices I had grown up with. Without education, I would not be exposed to the values of other cultures and as a result, I never would have been empowered to question and learn about the differences. In this, we benefit from everyone having this type of understanding as it allows for a country as diverse as ours to function harmoniously. Neighbors do not need to think the same way, but residents of our country must accept their neighbors as they are.

I have come to an understanding about diversity because of education. Individuals may all live with a variety of circumstances and beliefs, but education conveys they hold the same core values. Some pray to different gods or none at all, but we promote similar values in search of happiness. Education has always pushed me to understand this and promote curiosity about the world, rather than suppress it. Curiosity may have killed the cat, but if the cat could pass on knowledge, the next cat may have been able to surpass curiosity to meet education.

(The image is one I took from a trip to lumbini)

Sort:  

you mentioned a little bit about why humans differ from other animals. this is due to reason you mentioned but one point i want to add is cooperative flexibility in large groups is what helped humans during starting phase of evolution that dominates on other species and these days as well. Btw nice article. And I have seen on this portal that many good insightful articles got ignored due to less masala in them..

Education is one of the most important factors in terms of shifting attitude towards life. The more educated, the deeper understanding one has.