The way of the procrastinator

in #life6 years ago


Hello my fellow Steemians I owe you an apology for not being present and engaged. It seems that the most important lessons I have ever learned first totally derail my life and through picking up the pieces I learn something valuable. Hence the title of this post: Procrastinator.

I feel like there should be a 12 step program dealing with procrastination because it is as real an addiction, and as disabling, as any of the other outward addictions.

Tim Urban at https://waitbutwhy.com/2015/03/procrastination-matrix.html gives a great series of posts on procrastination and unfortunately my brain never got past this high school stage...

Actually it is worse. Because I am not addicted to anything, but rather just not doing something until a later date. I have lost control of my ability to keep my word to myself about doing my best work...instead I do the bare minimum necessary to complete a project by the due date. Despite the best advice from well-meaning friends and credentialed experts, nothing changes my behavior. Why? because their advice is written for sane people.
so pretty and so easy right? WRONG!!

I am not sane...I am a procrastinator! There. I have admitted my addiction to the whole world (theoretically) and now am ready to go to step number 2.

Truth (step) number 2: I will always be addicted to procrastination. Once an addict always an addict right? While that sounds bleak there is actually a great deal of hope embedded in that statement because ...addiction can be successfully managed. That is why 12-step programs actually work, not by getting rid of the addiction but by managing the addictive behavior.

First order of business is to have a support network that holds me accountable and in this I am turning to my followers and fellow Steemians to help me manage this addiction by holding me accountable to write consistently. I need to engage and be part of a productive group.

Usually I post about being present minded and ways to be peaceful... just wanted to share that even when a person is trying hard to be centered life still happens and knocks us for a loop. The key is getting back up one more time then you get knocked down and trying again.

I am launching a book on Kindle the 13th of December and around the first of Dec. I will be sending out copies to those who would like to act as reviewers. The working title is going to be "A life without Limits: How to have peace, prosperity and abundant living in the present moment." If that sounds interesting comment and I will put you on the list.

Thanks for reading:-)

namaste

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem presentminded! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!