Sort:  

For the first few years I stayed away from reunions for the sentiments you expressed so clearly here. Like you I've mostly felt "conventionally unsuccessful." But thanks too to social media and smouldered communications borders that we could get better scales to put against our efforts. It's in the nature of man to compare self with what he considers peer, so I'll spare going into discussions of how healthy those benchmarks are in the first place. Looks like you had fun... and nice dashiki 😉

Thanks for dropping in! My thing is, I look at social media as a mirage, because people tend to only show their best on it. They only expose the filtered images and "exciting" times. For all any of us know, the people in our timelines are horrifyingly depressed with serious hardships.

I take everything with a grain of salt and remember I am living my story not anyone else's... we're all a collection of books in a global library! :grin:

Hi puddinpaws,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Whoo you got curied! That's the best haha, my 10 year reunion is coming up quick and I've been really on the fence about it but honestly your post made me feel a little better about it. Maybe it *won't * be as awful as I imagine. (Love the shirt btw)

Haha thanks, it was a labour of love. I really do recommend going to these things, simply because at the end of the day, I doesn't matter what your former classmates are doing.

I mean people are going to put up a facade as to how good/bad their life is regardless of the event. If you use money to measure wealth, you ass will always be poor!

Love yourself warts and all!

This post has received a 9.1 % upvote from @boomerang.