I'm maintaining contacts with the dead, could you prove that my sister is a psychopath?

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo.jpg

Some time ago I received a message from a lady. It was one of the many full of worship for my writing letters. Based on my valuable professional experience, I approach this kind of letters with great reluctance. Honestly, I try to ignore them, because such behavior is characteristic for hysterics, and from hysterics, you do not expect anything good. They can quickly change from the unprecedented praise to the equal extreme condemnation, even in a short period.

In this case, she had a kind of interesting proposal: she sent me her phone number and asked for a call because she wanted to discuss something. I wrote back that I am happy to talk to her, that I will even drive to her if she only thinks that it's necessary. Consequently, she called me. It turned out that she read my article regarding the dissocial personality and immediately raised the suspicion that her sister, with whom she is fighting in the court, is so-called "a typical psychopath." The standard case, there is a significant dispute and psychologist who will say, or better - write about how the enemy is a "total psychopath" is welcome.

Countless times I received aided with right financial incentive offer to use my powers to support someone's belief that a life partner, or especially a trial opponent is so-called "total psychopath," or based on other reasons his point of view can regard as utterly ridiculous. I know people for whom everyone who dares to have a different point of view person is a psychopath. In this case, she was trying in a way that blew my mind.

Having read that the dissocial characteristics include "being prone to lies, prevarication, and mythomania" she came to the worthy of King Solomon idea that a diagnosis of dissocial characteristics in her sister would be a great way not to allow the doubt to demonstrate before the court, that her sister shamelessly lies, making the statements entirely incompatible with the preferences and interests of my would-be client. If it is a psychopath, the High Court, then she lies! Interpretation and assessment of this way of reasoning I leave to my readers.

We talked on the phone for quite a long time, and I was patiently explaining that this is not the role of the psychologist in the court, that assessment of the likelihood of someone's testimony is tough, and sometimes even impossible. I also came up with a proposal for a meeting on the official visit to my office, where I will be able to allay many doubts, especially if I will be able to study the evidence gathered in this case.

At the end of the conversation, I was overwhelmed with chaotic thanks, in a good mixture of admiration of my outstanding professionalism, knowledge, charisma, manners and some more things. My interlocutor has finally declared that in those several minutes I completely explained interesting to her topics and that no one knows this subject better than I, and I am after all unusually capable, kind, and helpful man, and, oh, a distinguished professional. There will be no paid visit. However, I started to receive on my private phone number super interesting text messages, with a proposal for joint discussion on topics of all kinds.

I wasn't reacting to it in any way, but my patience had run out when the fan of my talent began convincing me that she is maintaining contacts with the dead and asked the question whether as a prominent psychologist I would be able to look at this problem. I always had an aversion for any haunted babbling, and also some haunted people. And under no circumstances I dare to have the doubt in her abilities to in the field of contacts with the dead (I suspect even that she even do better with the dead than living...), I strongly prefer that these connections will continue without my participation.

When on Saturday, early in the morning I glanced up at my phone, I noticed several missing calls and some chaotic text messages. I replied politely that today is Saturday, eight o'clock in the morning and if she wants a consultation, she can come to my office for a paid visit. In response, I received by the accusations that the psychologist is a primarily a vocation, not a business idea. I also found out that I'm a terrible person, that I have neither passion nor any idea about psychology.

The ex-devotee of my talent stopped a warning that I'll report this case to the law enforcement authorities if she will send me another text message and I'm going to demand their strong reaction. The other day I received from her a polite apology with an explanation that the previous day (early in the morning) she was very drunk.

This is the life of a psychologist, dear Steemians.


Steemit original content