So, what is normal?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

image
I was having this random conversatiin with my brother in law and he asked me to define "normal".. Now, it really isn't as simple as one would think. My answer to him was me pointing at a tree with yellow flowers, saying to him that "normally that tree grows yellow flowers". Its just normal to expect that. When you speak of people, its a whole different story.

Lets say that I kick the dog every morning of my life before leaving the house, To me that would be normal. To people knowing of this it would also be normal. But to a random onlooker it would be mad.

This is one simple example, but ask yourself what is normal. Not socially acceptable, but normal.

I personally have the idea that normallity cant be discribed for a person. Could it be that having free will makes it impossible to be normal?

Sort:  

such a interesting topic! I think "normal" is just a standard we use to define something expected. my conclusion is: anything is "normal" but everything can be normal. it depends what are your perspective. 😃

k39w535jFPYrK.gif

Thank you for your comment ddua, It's really got me thinking. A topic that has no end.

You are welcome, man. It was a pleasure! :)
Indeed... We can talk for a few hours about this topic eheh