Sunday fishing!

in #life6 years ago

Good morning fellow Steemians! Yesterday morning I was up at 5:00 before even the sun woke up in an attempt to get to Primkop dam for some Bass fishing nice and early. The beast tome for Bass fishing is at sunrise or sunset.
It was a lovely cloudy but warm morning.

My fishing mate was picking me up but seeing as he is towing the boat and it is not possible to turn it around at my place without off-hooking I met him at the main road of the farm. It is about a 40 minute walk. So I had plenty time to "wake up" and breath in some fresh air.

Unfortunately my mate overslept as a result of our party that previous Saturday night only ending at midnight, and only picked me up at about 6:00, not a major issue as the ride to the dam is only about 30 min from my house, but we missed some precious early morning fishing time.

The sunrise

20180114_053337.jpg

20180114_052725.jpgBelow

It was about 6:40 when we had the boat on the water. A little late as I mentioned earlier. We planned to be out on the water much earlier. Now having said that, obviously this affected the amount of Bass we would catch for the day. It was still not a bad morning. In total we caught seven Bass ranging from small to smaller. These little buggers were so busy and hungry that they took up all your chances of reeling in a decent size fish. the following was the biggest for the day:

20180114_072352.jpg

We were on the dam till about 10:00 when they completely stopped taking our bait and decided to pack up and call it a day. The fun of Bass fishing is that it doesn't take up your whole day and you have the rest of Sunday to relax and get things done around the house.

And that was my Sunday morning.

IMG-20180114-WA0003.jpeg

Now go and have yourself a fantastic week!

Till later.

Sort:  

Resteemed my friend. What'd you catch him on? When I use to fish back in Florida I used to catch little guys like him on a spinner or a Texas rig. One of the many things I miss about living in the South of the States, bass fishing. Great post.

Hi, @mudcat36,

Thank you for the share, We use Zoom Flukes.

zoom.jpg

(Image from zoombait.com)

The water clarity greatly affects the bait. We used darker colours as the water was very murky on the day.
The darker colour is much more visible to the bass looking up for food.

We are actually going out again tomorrow afternoon.

Yeah, I found that to. I like to use mud red. Do you remember a lure called "The Flying Lure" from back in the 90's? Kinda like the flukes but had a funny drop when you worked them that bass couldn't resist. I used to spray mine with a scented attractant and one in every three cast would get a hit if I was working the right area. I.e stumps, pads, high grass. Caught a 8 pound lunker one time doing just that, but she looked like she had a belly full of eggs so back in the water to bed and lay'em I put her. Here's some tips and ideas to really get you going on Steemit as you seem to be into your outdoors lifestyle:

  1. You've got to check out the homesteading category. It's the place where most hunting, fishing, self sustaining, outdoor enthusiast land on Steemit.
  2. There is a tag called walkwithme. If you scroll down my blog you'll find a couple walk with me posts and meet ups I've done. Take a look. At the bottom of my posts you'll find the tag, click it and check out others content in that category. When I first started here my first big payout came from writing articles on home security, wild food foraging, and things in history. Have a look and let me know if you need any pointers.

Are you talking about the "floaties" as we called them?
sku133501ddd (4).jpg
I remember a time when these were big, and also spinners.

Thank you for the advice, I will use those tags in my future posts for sure. Ill check out your older posts. Hope you have an awesome day my man.


These things. Bass can't resist them.

O, yes, I remember those, but they got stuck so easily.

Lol, people hold the fishin up. My best trips are alone, can always add a few inches in a story. Great post