Inventory of my seeds, bulbs, tubers : English Version

in #life6 years ago (edited)



Hello everyone,

Today it was an inventory of seeds, bulbs and tubers. (The potatoes and onion bulbs have just been purchased, the rest come from my purchases, or from my past harvests.)
Some cultures will go on the big garden, others on the small one. it is organized all that! In addition, some of the crops will be used for the division of the plant, bulb or tuber.

For example sweet potatoes, (The big potatoes on the left), and the * ocas of Peru * (The little pink stuff in the blue tray just above :))
They will not be used for food but for harvesting and storage for the following year, with the aim of having, if possible, sufficient numbers of this species to obtain a larger crop.

Here the seed crates.

The Great Army

I have other vegetable seeds and fruit kernels in stock, however this part comes only from commercially purchased products (small grocery store, supermarket), and I am not sure about the quality and provenance of these seeds and nuclei. (risk of hybrid F1, as well as a bad identification of the species.)
So I did not include them in my inventory or in this group photo.

In fact the problem comes mainly from the risk of obtaining seeds of categorized products like F1 hybrids: The vegetables obtained from these seeds will not be the same ones that we had bought:
It may be that the variety has nothing to do, or in the worst case that the plant is simply not viable. Since these second-generation plants are not compliant, farmers using these seeds buy them from one year to the next. And one can understand it: these plants are robust, standardized and calibrated, they fulfill the criteria of a large-scale production.
For my part I will take the risk of importing species into my small urban garden. If, and only if I find good topics from one year to the next, I will transfer them to my large rural garden.
However it is out of the question that these plants are found without prior identification of the species / variety / productivity of the plant, in my large rural garden.

To understand better I leave you the wikipedia page: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/F1_hybrid

I hope you enjoyed this article.

see you soon !

Sort:  

Nice collection. How do you record what you have? Do you use an excel file?

Hey thank you :)

Of course i am. ;) I put everything i need to know in : Sow periode, time of growth, when the plant will be harvested, when i bought the seeds, how many seed i bought, how many i sow this year.... I'm regularly adding some characteristics or things to know
according to the species. It's kinda my plan of work. ^^